Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2011, 23:21   #1
Registered User
 
Wakadui's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Boat: Beneteau 49 - WAKADUI
Posts: 36
Racor 500MA

Simple question...

Do you have to top-off the Racor 500MA with fuel after changing the filter element, or can you simply swap out old element with new and leave dry?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Wherever you go... there you are!
Wakadui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 00:31   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, currently in Greece
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 40
Posts: 357
Images: 4
Re: Racor 500MA

I always top it off and then the engine does not need bleeding and usually starts immediately.
__________________

jim_thomsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 00:39   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,758
Images: 32
Re: Racor 500MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by jim_thomsen View Post
I always top it off and then the engine does not need bleeding and usually starts immediately.
Second this
__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 00:53   #4
Registered User
 
SvLetitgo's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2009
Boat: Lagoon 380 Letitgo
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancerbye
Second this
No need on the 500 ma the filter is above the fuel level and line

Need filling first time only that the beauty of those
__________________
svletitgo.com

From Dreamer to doer
SvLetitgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 05:56   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 5 Mile River
Boat: Bristol 41.1 Keep on Dancin'
Posts: 539
Re: Racor 500MA

I had a boat with a fuel algae problem. I would use bio-bor, Baja Filters, magnetic fuel line devises, and every couple of years the algae would all of a sudden grow. It would only happen at the most critical times, like running a pass in the Bahamas, entering a new anchorage at night, etc. I would quickly have to change filters. I kept a good quality sports beverage bottle filled with fuel, so to top off the filter housing, I would just have to extend the spout on the top, squirt fuel into the filter, cover up, and fire the engine.
__________________
keepondancin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 06:48   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
Re: Racor 500MA

Quote:
every couple of years the algae would all of a sudden grow. It would only happen at the most critical times, like running a pass in the Bahamas, entering a new anchorage at night, etc.
Now that is very sly algae.
__________________
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 07:33   #7
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The boat's in Deale, MD
Boat: Seidelmann 30T
Posts: 60
Re: Racor 500MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by keepondancin View Post
I had a boat with a fuel algae problem. I would use bio-bor, Baja Filters, magnetic fuel line devises, and every couple of years the algae would all of a sudden grow. It would only happen at the most critical times, like running a pass in the Bahamas, entering a new anchorage at night, etc. I would quickly have to change filters. I kept a good quality sports beverage bottle filled with fuel, so to top off the filter housing, I would just have to extend the spout on the top, squirt fuel into the filter, cover up, and fire the engine.
Thats a great idea - I will steal that immediately!
__________________
chrisferro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 07:59   #8
Registered User
 
careka's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Egersund,Norway
Boat: Lagoon380 Comfort#637
Posts: 704
Images: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to careka
Re: Racor 500MA

The Racor 500MA Marine Turbine Series Fuel Filter features advanced 3 stage water separation and fuel filtration combined in a compact size. The cartridge style element is easy and quick to change. Simply remove the cap, pull out the old filter with the provided handle and slide a new element in.
Racor 500MA Marine Turbine Series Filter Specifications:
  • Maximum Flow Rate: 60 GPH (227 LPH)
  • Port Size (fuel): 3/4-16 UNF (SAE J1926)
  • Height: 11.5 in. (29.2 cm)
  • Width: 5.8 in. (14.7 cm)
  • Depth: 4.8 in. (12.2 cm)
  • Weight (dry): 4.0 lb (1.8 kg)
  • Maximum Working Pressure: 15 PSI (1 bar)
  • H2O Removal Efficiency: 99%
  • Maximum Temperature: -40 to +255F (-40 to +124C)
  • Cartridge Filter Element: 2, 10 or 30 microns.
__________________
careka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 08:03   #9
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 17,777
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
Re: Racor 500MA

send me 2 sets, please.......
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 16:00   #10
Registered User
 
Nauticatarcher's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mooloolaba, Qld
Boat: Islander Freeport 36
Posts: 396
Re: Racor 500MA

We installed outboard fuel priming bulb in fuel line next to racor, a few pumps and she's full, too easy also made bleeding engine easy
__________________
Nauticatarcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 16:09   #11
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 17,777
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
Re: Racor 500MA

i use a 50 dollar assist pump--electrical-- for this..lol.. works well and doesnt deteriorate at all.... easy breezy--had to use it 22 times between ensenada and mazatlan...... now i havent the problems this engine had when i left sd..LOL
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 16:12   #12
Registered User
 
Ziggy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: U.S., Northeast
Boat: Contessa 32
Posts: 1,421
Images: 2
Re: Racor 500MA

My Racor is below the level of the fuel tank. I have a shut off valve near the filter. After changing the element, I open the valve a bit until it's full. No other priming is needed.
__________________
... He knows the chart is not the sea.
-- Philip Booth, Chart 1203
Ziggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 17:15   #13
Registered User
 
sded's Avatar

Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Diego
Boat: J40 #33 since 1987
Posts: 228
Re: Racor 500MA

I never have needed to top mine off. Just change the element and the fuel level remains above the hose and doesn't need to be bled. As long as I don't run out of fuel (or need to change the primary filter) all is well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	enfilt.jpg
Views:	352
Size:	74.2 KB
ID:	28440  
__________________
sded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 17:27   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,758
Images: 32
Re: Racor 500MA

If there is evidence of fuel bug when I am changing filters, I will dump the bottom chamber into a container and flush some fuel down to clean it. The PO had installed electric pumps for primming the filters. I thank him for this everytime I have to change filters. Pump the level up passed the new filter and put the cap back on. Never need to bleed the system.
__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 17:32   #15
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pblais's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hayes, VA
Boat: Gozzard 36
Posts: 8,700
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Re: Racor 500MA

Quote:
I had a boat with a fuel algae problem. I would use bio-bor, Baja Filters, magnetic fuel line devises, and every couple of years the algae would all of a sudden grow.
No leeches? Snake oil sounds pretty good until you need to depend on it. I really love the magnetic stuff it's so very new age. No limit to what folks will believe. Magnetic algae must be from outer space. Once you have space aliens involved there is no hope at all.

Algae comes from the air that comes in through the fuel vent and lives ONLY in water that condenses inside the tank as the temperature fluctuates above and below the dew point. You could kill with biocide but it still dies. It can also come from algae in old fuel too that you pay for. The algae itself is really no problem it's the dead algae that fall to the bottom and is not magnetic that gets you. You could plug the fuel vent but then it's not functional and has it's own problems.

Using all your fuel over time and not letting the tank sit below half full for long periods will do the same. Spending the winter in higher latitudes and running a heater will just make the algae party - new water - fresh algae.
__________________

__________________
Paul Blais
s/v Bright Eyes Gozzard 36
37 15.7 N 76 28.9 W
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
racor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Racor Design? deano Engines and Propulsion Systems 17 20-06-2014 02:27
Racor Filter noelex 77 Engines and Propulsion Systems 27 07-01-2012 15:54
Racor Filter prices Steve W Engines and Propulsion Systems 1 24-03-2010 07:44
Racor Filters - Thank You clausont Engines and Propulsion Systems 0 28-09-2008 19:44
Racor Filtration jjorg Engines and Propulsion Systems 23 05-12-2007 06:55



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.