Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2011, 18:12   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 5 Mile River
Boat: Bristol 41.1 Keep on Dancin'
Posts: 539
Re: Racor 500MA

We were cruising at the time. It went on for about 10 years. Fuel was purchased everywhere from the US, to Venezuala. I did everything I could think of to prevent growth. The tank was removed at one point to have a leak welded. It was steam cleaned. A while later, a bllom. What I would do when I would develop the problem was to run out the fuel, pump out the very bottom, and wipe the dry tank with bio-bor. I was religious in fueling, but about every two years, I would get an algae bloom. It was just one of those things that happens. My current boat is winter stored, but that is changing soon when we head south again, this fall, and I haven't had any problems. We had to sail into many anchorages, Georgtown in the Bahamas being one, looking good. This was pre-chart plotters, and GPS only gave you Lat and Long. Little did the audience know that we had to change skivvies after dropping anchor. If I remember correctly, after adding that in line magnetic device, we didn't have any more problems. This isn't an endorsment.
__________________

__________________
keepondancin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 19:53   #17
Senior Cruiser
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,758
Images: 32
Re: Racor 500MA

LOL. The PO must have believed in those magnetic alien absorption devices since there are two of them installed. I can say without a doubt that I have never had any aliens in my fuel tank ( that I am aware of) but algae have shown up from time to time. Filter changes, two engines (only run one at a time) and some of the blue Startron seems to keep the problem manageable.
__________________

__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 20:08   #18
Marine Service Provider
 
Maine Sail's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Maine
Boat: CS-36T - Cupecoy
Posts: 3,060
Re: Racor 500MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wakadui View Post
Simple question...

Do you have to top-off the Racor 500MA with fuel after changing the filter element, or can you simply swap out old element with new and leave dry?

Thanks
If your engine is self bleeding you simply flip the key and wait. If it's not you may need to fill the Racor back up to prevent an exercise in manual bleeding.

I am a believer in draining the fuel below the filter level before changing it. Pulling a dirty filter with the Racor full can cause the fuel in the filter to become clogged with debris that fell off the filter when removing it or that was stirred up from the bottom of the bowl. When you put in the new filter some of that grunge is now on the wrong side of the filter and heading for the on-engien filter. While not a huge deal it takes very little time to manually top up the filter with fresh fuel.

I am lucky that our own boat is self bleeding. I can drain the entire Racor, change the filter then simply hit the key and wait for the tone of the fuel pump to change.... Done...
__________________
Marine How To Articles
Maine Sail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 20:23   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,848
Re: Racor 500MA

I always drain the bowl full of gunk when chainging the filter so I always refill to the top
__________________
motion30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 21:51   #20
Sponsoring Vendor
 
HopCar's Avatar

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami Florida
Boat: Ellis Flybridge 28
Posts: 3,162
Re: Racor 500MA

A diesel mechanic once told me you could top off your filters with mineral spirits. The advantage being that it doesn't have as strong a smell as diesel and you can buy it in small quantities. I've never had the courage to try it. Has anyone else heard of doing this?
__________________
Hopkins-Carter Marine Supplies & Fishing Tackle
What You Need, at the Price You Want...with Service!
HopCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 23:21   #21
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2011
Location: PDX
Boat: Gulfstar 50
Posts: 895
Re: Racor 500MA

What degree of filtration do you all use in your 500MA? THe boat I have is newish to me and has 30 micron filters.

I'm thinking of dropping to at least 10 micron.

thanks
__________________
evm1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2011, 11:57   #22
Registered User
 
Wakadui's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Boat: Beneteau 49 - WAKADUI
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nauticatarcher
We installed outboard fuel priming bulb in fuel line next to racor, a few pumps and she's full, too easy also made bleeding engine easy
Nauticatarcher,
That is a great idea! Do you have a picture of your priming bulb and Racor?
__________________
Wherever you go... there you are!
Wakadui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2011, 14:13   #23
Senior Cruiser
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,758
Images: 32
Re: Racor 500MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by evm1024 View Post
What degree of filtration do you all use in your 500MA? THe boat I have is newish to me and has 30 micron filters.

I'm thinking of dropping to at least 10 micron.

thanks
I use 10 microns. There are 5 microns as secondary on the engines. These are older engines. Never had a fuel failure while running.
__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2011, 16:56   #24
Registered User
 
Nauticatarcher's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mooloolaba, Qld
Boat: Islander Freeport 36
Posts: 396
Re: Racor 500MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wakadui View Post
Nauticatarcher,
That is a great idea! Do you have a picture of your priming bulb and Racor?
Sorry dont have any pictures, just cut copper fuel line and installed bulb with two short bits of fuel pipe and hose clips. Dirt cheap and no power required
__________________
Nauticatarcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 09:54   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Humacao, Puerto Rico
Boat: Beneteau 456
Posts: 429
Images: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nauticatarcher
Sorry dont have any pictures, just cut copper fuel line and installed bulb with two short bits of fuel pipe and hose clips. Dirt cheap and no power required
It is a great solution but always have a spare bulb. I have one and it failed once basicly it stopped the flow. It is better to inyall it on a bypass line.
__________________
avazquez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 10:19   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Isla Saboga, Las Perlas, Panama
Boat: 1994 Hunter 37.5
Posts: 163
Re: Racor 500MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy View Post
My Racor is below the level of the fuel tank. I have a shut off valve near the filter. After changing the element, I open the valve a bit until it's full. No other priming is needed.
I do the same thing. Just let it fill just until the fuel starts to run out over the top, then tighten the lid. Might still be a small air bubble left in there, but it should be too small to cause a problem.
__________________
oldjags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 14:00   #27
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 19
Re: Racor 500MA

This is old thread but still worth a try. I just bought Racor 500MA and having some troubles finding fittings. The filter has port 3/4"-16 UNF and the fuel lines are marked ID 5/16.

It seems I will not be able to find a single piece but even with 2 parts I am having problems. I found racor adapter Thread / Thread Size: 3/4 SAE x 1/4 NPTF .

Is the 3/4"-16 UNF compatible with 3/4 SAE?
__________________
jserge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 14:33   #28
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Huntington NY
Boat: Tartan 3000
Posts: 178
Re: Racor 500MA

With no other information than a Google search it seems 3/4 SAE is a 3/4-16 thread
__________________
Larry Florida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2017, 03:50   #29
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Hingham
Boat: Dickerson 37AC
Posts: 193
Re: Racor 500MA

I had to buy new fittings for my racor last year to make room for my fuel polisher. Mine is an older style and it was a pain to find them. I remember buying them from Zoro and they were factory Parker/Racor and had an uncommon thread. I almost made them on my lathe I was having such a time.

This is the new racor fitting, the old one like mine uses a 9/16" thread

https://www.zoro.com/parker-conversi...-s/i/G5008333/

Older 500 racor use this one

https://www.zoro.com/parker-conversi...-s/i/G5007511/
__________________
sailah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2017, 04:46   #30
Registered User
 
Suijin's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Annapolis MD; currently in Oriental NC
Boat: Valiant 40
Posts: 2,923
Re: Racor 500MA

Quote:
Originally Posted by jserge View Post
This is old thread but still worth a try. I just bought Racor 500MA and having some troubles finding fittings. The filter has port 3/4"-16 UNF and the fuel lines are marked ID 5/16.

It seems I will not be able to find a single piece but even with 2 parts I am having problems. I found racor adapter Thread / Thread Size: 3/4 SAE x 1/4 NPTF .

Is the 3/4"-16 UNF compatible with 3/4 SAE?
You probably bought it online and it was old stock. Racor sells adapters for these to NPTF fittings.

The newer ones don't require adapters because so many people complained about the idiocy of using non-standard fittings.

Racor Fuel Fitting For 500 Series Fuel Filter / Water Separators

Of course, once you've paid for the adapters you've wiped out the savings of buying it discounted online lol.
__________________

__________________
Suijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
racor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Racor Design? deano Engines and Propulsion Systems 17 20-06-2014 02:27
Racor Filter noelex 77 Engines and Propulsion Systems 27 07-01-2012 15:54
Racor Filter prices Steve W Engines and Propulsion Systems 1 24-03-2010 07:44
Racor Filters - Thank You clausont Engines and Propulsion Systems 0 28-09-2008 19:44
Racor Filtration jjorg Engines and Propulsion Systems 23 05-12-2007 06:55



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:35.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.