Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-10-2013, 17:36   #1
Registered User
 
endoftheroad's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Key West
Boat: Westsail 32 and Herreshoff 28
Posts: 1,159
Racor 500 Question?

I know this has been discussed to death but for the life of me I can't find my particular answer and I have searched my fingers sore.

Can or should I use a Racor 500 with my Yanmar 3gm30f?

I have 2-35 gallon fuel tanks in my Westsail 32.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
endoftheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2013, 17:42   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Vasco's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toronto
Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore" Ben393 "Breathless"
Posts: 7,138
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Why not?
__________________

__________________
Rick I
Toronto in summer, Bahamas in winter.
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/beneteau393/
Vasco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2013, 17:42   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Yes and yes (unless you prefer a different brand).
__________________
The Blue Dot Campaign. This Changes Everything.
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2013, 18:11   #4
Registered User
 
endoftheroad's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Key West
Boat: Westsail 32 and Herreshoff 28
Posts: 1,159
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Thanks and thanks.

Why?
Somewhere I read that my motors fuel consumption was too small to properly "tornado" inside the Racor.
__________________
endoftheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2013, 18:14   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Oh. Yes, that is probably the case, but it is meaningless. The "turbo" thing is mostly marketing. You do need a minimum flow for the "turbo" to work, but the work it does is not really useful unless you have a lot of undissolved water in your fuel.

On the other hand, you will benefit greatly from the water separating and fuel filtering capabilities inherent in the Racor filtering media itself.

Or you could use a different brand. The important thing is fuel filtering and water separating.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-10-2013, 18:51   #6
Registered User
 
endoftheroad's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Key West
Boat: Westsail 32 and Herreshoff 28
Posts: 1,159
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Thank you
__________________
endoftheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 07:34   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: French Polynesia
Boat: Allied 39
Posts: 470
We have been using the Racor 500 for decades and very pleased with it. May I suggest at the time of purchase you add 2 things to your buy list. 1. A Racor water probe with alarm. This will notify you of water in the bowl. 2. A vacuum gauge. The vacuum gauge will be very useful in alerting you when the filter starts to get full and the pump starts having to work harder. The vacuum gauge has cut our filter changes down by heaps. Early on we would change the fuel filter when we saw crap in the bowl. Now we wait until the gauge starts showing some vacuum.

We installed a yanmar a few years ago and it came with a much smaller Racor than the 500 series. We kept the 500 and sold the new one. Even if you have to buy the 500 it makes much more sense as it's a bigger unit and will capture more dirt/ water before needing to be serviced.

Good luck with your choice


Chuck
Jacaranda
Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador
__________________
www.jacarandajourney.com
chouliha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 08:03   #8
Registered User
 
Strait Shooter's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Straits of Juan De Fuca
Boat: Ingrid
Posts: 786
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Well, since the subject of Racor 500's has been brought up, I need some help.

I installed new diesel tanks this summer (150 gals), and I need to install an at least rudimentary fuel polishing system like NOW. I can't afford to go all Jedi on it after the bleeding this summer.

Will a ten micron Racor 500 and a Walbro pump like FRA Constant Frequency Reciprocating Fuel Pump - Walbro | Fisheries Supply this one work?

I can put this together for about $350. Later on I could add another filter and bypass with some pressure gauges.

Whatta ya think? Will that work for the winter anyway?
__________________
"Waste your money and you’re only out of money, but waste your time and you’ve lost a part of your life.” (Michael Leboeuf)
Strait Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 08:42   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Port Ludlow Wa
Boat: Makela,Ingrid38,Idora
Posts: 1,973
Re: Racor 500 Question?

The Walbro has a pretty low flow rate. I installed a second 500 two years ago. It generates peace of mind. I agree that the vacuum guage is most important. I give mine a scan every time I am entering one of our current laden and rock infested passes. I installed mine after my brother washed out of cattle pass while desperately trying to avoid the rocks and restart the engine with a plugged up under sized filter.
__________________
IdoraKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 08:52   #10
Registered User
 
Strait Shooter's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Straits of Juan De Fuca
Boat: Ingrid
Posts: 786
Re: Racor 500 Question?

I thought the Walbro is a little low in regards to flow rate as well.
I'll keep searching for an affordable higher flow rate pump.

Do you think the ten micron filter is the right size for a single filter fuel polishing system? I have another Racor 500 on the engine supply fuel line also. What size filter should I use on that one in this case?

I'd like to incorporate whatever I do now into a more permanent system eventually.
__________________
"Waste your money and you’re only out of money, but waste your time and you’ve lost a part of your life.” (Michael Leboeuf)
Strait Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 09:08   #11
Registered User
 
markpierce's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central California
Boat: M/V Carquinez Coot
Posts: 3,413
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strait Shooter View Post
Do you think the ten micron filter is the right size for a single filter fuel polishing system? I have another Racor 500 on the engine supply fuel line also. What size filter should I use on that one in this case?

I'd like to incorporate whatever I do now into a more permanent system eventually.
I have dual filters on the engine supply line using 2-micron filter elements with a valve so I can switch/change filters without stopping the engine. For the polishing circuit, I use nothing larger than 10-microns.

__________________
Kar-KEEN-ez Koot
markpierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 09:17   #12
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Racor 500 Question?

We approach it differently - 30um on the polishing system (gear pump with Racor 1000), 10um on the primary filters (Racor 500) and let the 2um engine spin on secondary handle anything that gets through those.

We change our engine primary and secondary filters every 3 years even though they have never shown signs of plugging.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 09:18   #13
Registered User
 
Strait Shooter's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Straits of Juan De Fuca
Boat: Ingrid
Posts: 786
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by markpierce View Post
I have dual filters on the engine supply line using 2-micron filter elements with a valve so I can switch/change filters without stopping the engine. For the polishing circuit, I use nothing larger than 10-microns.

I like that.

So in my mind, two 500 Racors with 2 micron filters, a by pass and pressure gauge on the engine supply side, and then a single Racor 1000 with a 10 micron filter and a higher flow rate pump.

I like that.
__________________
"Waste your money and you’re only out of money, but waste your time and you’ve lost a part of your life.” (Michael Leboeuf)
Strait Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 09:23   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Your engine secondaries are 2-5 micron, why use same or smaller on the primaries? 20um particles are the ones you need to worry about - the rest will go through the engine harmlessly.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 09:27   #15
Registered User
 
Strait Shooter's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Straits of Juan De Fuca
Boat: Ingrid
Posts: 786
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
We approach it differently - 30um on the polishing system (gear pump with Racor 1000), 10um on the primary filters (Racor 500) and let the 2um engine spin on secondary handle anything that gets through those.

We change our engine primary and secondary filters every 3 years even though they have never shown signs of plugging.

Mark
I appreciate your input Mark.
Do you think that since my tanks are new that a 30 micron filter is necessary? My thinking is that I can go ten micron on the polishing system right off the bat and keep the fuel cleaner .... Maybe????

Then go with a ten micron on the primary side along with a 2 micron and a bypass in between them.

I like that.
__________________

__________________
"Waste your money and you’re only out of money, but waste your time and you’ve lost a part of your life.” (Michael Leboeuf)
Strait Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
racor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:24.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.