Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-10-2013, 09:31   #16
Registered User
 
Strait Shooter's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Straits of Juan De Fuca
Boat: Ingrid
Posts: 786
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Anyone have any good leads on a high rate pump for something like this? The "marine" versions seems steep.
Grainger?
__________________

__________________
"Waste your money and you’re only out of money, but waste your time and you’ve lost a part of your life.” (Michael Leboeuf)
Strait Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 09:32   #17
Registered User
 
Strait Shooter's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Straits of Juan De Fuca
Boat: Ingrid
Posts: 786
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by markpierce View Post
I have dual filters on the engine supply line using 2-micron filter elements with a valve so I can switch/change filters without stopping the engine. For the polishing circuit, I use nothing larger than 10-microns.


BTW, nice installation. Did you do that?
__________________

__________________
"Waste your money and you’re only out of money, but waste your time and you’ve lost a part of your life.” (Michael Leboeuf)
Strait Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 09:35   #18
Registered User
 
SV Maclas's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Canada
Boat: Sinek, Pilothouse, 43ft
Posts: 105
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Definitely love the Racor systems. One additional suggestion is to add another one in parallel, both with vacuum gauges. You can then immediately switch over to the clean filter when the first one plugs up.
__________________
SV Maclas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 09:40   #19
Registered User
 
markpierce's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central California
Boat: M/V Carquinez Coot
Posts: 3,413
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strait Shooter View Post
BTW, nice installation. Did you do that?
No, the builder (Seahorse Marine) did that. The dual-Racor 500 filter system is standard equipment. It feeds an 80-h.p. John Deere.
__________________
Kar-KEEN-ez Koot
markpierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 09:47   #20
Registered User
 
Strait Shooter's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Straits of Juan De Fuca
Boat: Ingrid
Posts: 786
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by markpierce View Post
No, the builder (Seahorse Marine) did that. The dual-Racor 500 filter system is standard equipment. It feeds an 80-h.p. John Deere.
Sweet boat!
__________________
"Waste your money and you’re only out of money, but waste your time and you’ve lost a part of your life.” (Michael Leboeuf)
Strait Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 09:50   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cayuga Lake NY - or on the boat somewhere south of there
Boat: Caliber 40
Posts: 1,096
Re: Racor 500 Question?

best improvement Racor has ever made was to make a version with a priming pump built right into it. No more using that little lever on the lift pump fifty thousand times to bleed air out of the motor! Well worth the extra you pay for it even after just one episode of bleeding.
__________________
sck5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 10:05   #22
Registered User
 
Stu Jackson's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cowichan Bay, BC (Maple Bay Marina)
Posts: 6,385
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strait Shooter View Post
Anyone have any good leads on a high rate pump for something like this? The "marine" versions seems steep.
Grainger?
Try Napa. A Facet diesel fuel pump is all you need. Just get one with the right hose connection sizes and it should be just fine.
__________________
Stu Jackson
Catalina 34 #224 (1986) C34IA Secretary
Cowichan Bay, BC, (Maple Bay Marina) SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)
Stu Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 10:32   #23
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,355
Re: Racor 500 Question?

My gues is most sailboat engines arent really going to "turbo" that filter. But would be a great one for most applications.
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 10:40   #24
Registered User
 
Strait Shooter's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Straits of Juan De Fuca
Boat: Ingrid
Posts: 786
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Thanks Stu Jackson, they most certainly look like what I'm looking for.
Much appreciated.
__________________
"Waste your money and you’re only out of money, but waste your time and you’ve lost a part of your life.” (Michael Leboeuf)
Strait Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 10:54   #25
Registered User
 
markpierce's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central California
Boat: M/V Carquinez Coot
Posts: 3,413
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sck5 View Post
best improvement Racor has ever made was to make a version with a priming pump built right into it. No more using that little lever on the lift pump fifty thousand times to bleed air out of the motor! Well worth the extra you pay for it even after just one episode of bleeding.
My fuel system is plumbed so that the polishing-system pump will prime the engine (as well as transfer fuel among the several tanks.)

__________________
Kar-KEEN-ez Koot
markpierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 11:00   #26
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,966
Re: Racor 500 Question?

I'd consider the Walbro FRB-13 pump. It pumps 43 GPH and is Coast Guard Approved . It doesn't cost much more than the non-CG approved.

Walbro FRB-13 Industrial & Marine Fuel Pump from Fuel-Pumps.net

The 43GPH of this Walbro is a good match to the 60GPH capacity of the Racor 500. When polishing it's best to move the fuel fast enough to get the "turbo" effect to happen but not so fast that the water doesn't have time to separate.

I've also seen it recommended (but don't know this for a fact) that it is best in polishing for the fuel return to go to the bottom of the tank instead of exiting at the top of the tank. This will reduce the amount of foaming of the diesel from entrapped air.

Note that the FRB Walbro's have a 70 micron filter screen that could clog up over time. They have an optional 420 micron screen if you just want to let the Racor do it.
__________________
CarlF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 12:43   #27
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Put the pump after the Racor filter and run the return line to near the bottom of the tank. That way your filter will pass clean fuel to the pump (wont clog the screen) and you wont oxygenate the fuel on the return to the tank.
__________________
The Blue Dot Campaign. This Changes Everything.
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 16:25   #28
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia, Central Coast.
Boat: Boden 36 Triple chine long keel steel, named Nekeyah
Posts: 776
Re: Racor 500 Question?

I have just ordered one of these. 1 gpm gear pump. DC gear pump

Regards,

Richard.
__________________
boden36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 16:35   #29
Registered User
 
Strait Shooter's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Straits of Juan De Fuca
Boat: Ingrid
Posts: 786
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by markpierce View Post
My fuel system is plumbed so that the polishing-system pump will prime the engine (as well as transfer fuel among the several tanks.)

I would like to do that as well. I understand that the Perkins I have (M60) is a bitch to bleed. I would like to know how your system achieves this and see if I can't plumb mine in a similar fashion.

Maybe a simple line diagram? I know I'm imposing now, sorry. If someone were to ask me that, I wouldn't know where to begin.

More searches are in order I see!
__________________
"Waste your money and you’re only out of money, but waste your time and you’ve lost a part of your life.” (Michael Leboeuf)
Strait Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2013, 16:37   #30
Registered User
 
Strait Shooter's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Straits of Juan De Fuca
Boat: Ingrid
Posts: 786
Re: Racor 500 Question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by boden36 View Post
I have just ordered one of these. 1 gpm gear pump. DC gear pump

Regards,

Richard.
Yes Sir, that would work.
__________________

__________________
"Waste your money and you’re only out of money, but waste your time and you’ve lost a part of your life.” (Michael Leboeuf)
Strait Shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
racor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.