Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-05-2011, 19:29   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL
Boat: Hunter 40
Posts: 112
Racor 500 and Filter Replacement

Hi,

I have a Racor 500 filter on the boat now for almost 1.5 years. I also got the gauge that fits on top thinking it would alert me when to change filters. I am now showing symptoms of a filter that needs replacing yet the gauge is showing a normal indication. I do have a fresh twist on fuel filter on the engine so it's not that one causing the problem.

Do these gauges work well?, maybe because of the lower fuel flow it's inaccurate ?

How often do you replace the filters? It's got about 150 hours on it now.

Thanks for the help
__________________
Acadia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-05-2011, 19:48   #2
Registered User
 
Delfin's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Boat: 55' Romsdal
Posts: 1,390
Re: Racor 500 and filter replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Acadia View Post
Hi,

I have a Racor 500 filter on the boat now for almost 1.5 years. I also got the gauge that fits on top thinking it would alert me when to change filters. I am now showing symptoms of a filter that needs replacing yet the gauge is showing a normal indication. I do have a fresh twist on fuel filter on the engine so it's not that one causing the problem.

Do these gauges work well?, maybe because of the lower fuel flow it's inaccurate ?

How often do you replace the filters? It's got about 150 hours on it now.

Thanks for the help
You can see if the Racor needs changing just by looking at it. If it is pretty well blackened, then it may need to be. If it is not, then it definitely isn't. What micron are you using? If 10 - 30, then your OEM filter may be crudded up with what passed through the Racor. If a 2 micron and your symptoms are accurately indicating a clogged filter, then I would guess your OEM filter has been on for awhile.

And yes, the gauges do work, as long as you are sucking the fuel through the filter and not pushing it. Sometimes these are plumbed up wrong and if you're pushing the fuel, the gauge won't be accurate.
__________________
http://delfin.talkspot.com
When stupidity is a sufficient explanation, there is no need to appeal to another cause.
- Ulmann's Razor
Delfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
racor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cleaning Racor 500 FG Filter - Problem ! MarkJ Engines and Propulsion Systems 36 16-02-2012 12:56
Racor Filter noelex 77 Engines and Propulsion Systems 27 07-01-2012 15:54
Racor 500 Filter Issues roverhi Engines and Propulsion Systems 8 10-04-2011 16:34
Racor Filter prices Steve W Engines and Propulsion Systems 1 24-03-2010 07:44
Racor 500 FG Issues Chief Engineer Engines and Propulsion Systems 26 21-11-2009 16:50



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:51.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.