Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-05-2006, 14:25   #1

Boat: Ensenada 20
Propulsion Purchase Guidance Needed

We have an Ensenada 20 that we sail on a nearby lake (Cave Run).

I've finally had it with the various hassles associated with the too old Mariner outboard we've been using.

I'm thinking about buying an electric trolling motor. We just need propulsion for moving around the docks, or for returning to the dock in the event of a storm and unfavorable winds (could be a few miles against the wind).

I have no experience with trolling motors, and wonder if this is a good idea. I do not see any other sailboats on the lake using one (lots of Catalina 22's, 25's, 27's and some 30's and various other assorted brands/models).

If it makes sense, what size should I get, what size and type of battery should I get, and where should I shop for them? Based on my research so far, it appears that Walmart online has the best prices.

Also, would it be OK to set up an automatic bilge pump hooked to the same battery?

Thanks much for your help!
Lightfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2006, 14:59   #2

Boat: Viking 33 Tanzer 8.5m Tanzer 22
Minn Kota type

Electric trolling motors are not powerfull enough in my opinion. Have a look at the Minn Kota site. I used to sell them and would not suggest you use one for anything bigger than a canoe or small boat on a lake where gas motors are not allowed. A 2hp OBM will provide more power for much longer than an electric unit. I must advise though that I have not used any of the more modern units which may have more power than I am suggesting. I would get a new gas OBM from 5 to 8hp.
Michael
BC Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2006, 17:03   #3

Boat: Prout Manta 38' Catamaran - Sunspot Baby