Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 21-04-2015, 16:43   #1

Boat: 1987 Endeavor 37 B plan
Properly Check Engine Oil Level

Total newbie here.

Simple question for you all. I have an E37 with a Perkins 4.108 engine. My dumb question is how to I proper check the oil.

the manual really is a bit ambiguous in its description or they assume a higher intellect than mine. I checked oil cold and it reads on the bottom fill line. I checked while running after ilding for two minutes and I was spot on full. What do I believe if any. Could someone spend a few minutes and give me some idiot proof instructions. I never owned a boat or diesel engine until a few weeks ago when we boat her. Thank you.

Old 21-04-2015, 17:03   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Islander 34
Re: Properly Check Engine Oil Level

Engine oil is generally checked with the engine off and allowed a minute or two to drain back. Oil should actually be slightly lower when running.

To check the oil, you pull the dip stick. wipe it off, reinsert and pull again and read where the oil hits. You'll want it near the full mark. All this done with the engine off.

Old 21-04-2015, 17:14   #3

Boat: Krogen 42
You can drain all your oil, add the amount as listed in your manual, then mark your dipstick as the full mark. This will compensate for the angle of the engine.
Old 21-04-2015, 19:11   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: a sailing boat

I measure cool (not cold) well after I stop the engine.

Plugs have various designs and often the instruction is to measure fully in (fully plugged in for rubber cap/blade).

The blade (at times a stick) may show an upper and lower mark. This is the case with Sabres, Yanmars, VP, etc.

You do not want to overfill nor to underfill, hence hitting the half way distance on upper-and-lower marked sticks is your goal.

b.
Old 21-04-2015, 19:56   #5

Boat: Tartan 3500

As I recall, the upper and lower lines represent 1 quart.
Old 22-04-2015, 09:19   #6