Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2011, 09:42   #1

Problem with New Motor Idling

Okay folks, input appreciated since I'm new to all this.

We just installed a new Beta 38 hp engine in our boat. Along with this all new tanks, hoses, valves, filters, etc etc. Filter setup is 30micron. The fuel tank is about 2 ft tall and about 2 ft above the engine with a pick up tube that goes almost to the bottom of the tank.

When we first attempted to start the motor I tried to prime the system with the hand lift pump. It never primed. Like it couldn't get enough suction to pull fuel through the whole system. Probably spent 30 minutes pumping.

To start it initially I rolled the engine over and it was able to prime itself (its a self bleeding/priming motor). It fired, ran a bit and died. I'm assuming it fired off the fuel left over in the fuel filter from the factory. After that I went ahead and tried the manual procedure with the hand lift pump again and found that it did pump fuel. So we did that, fired the motor and it ran fine for a while.

We now have about 25 hours on the motor. Each time I've needed to start the motor I've had to prime it. Usually I turn the motor over then use the manual lift pump because just pumping it doesn't seem to do anything initially.

Symptoms:
Once its running, if I let it idle for over a minute, it will sputter out. Anything above idle and it will run indefinitely. Runs great, sounds great, ran it for over 4 hours at a time no problems. If I have to go to low revs and shift back and forth a few times in a row, afterwards the motor will stumble but hasn't died.