Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-08-2013, 12:36   #1

perkins engine advice wanted

Hi, I'm new to this so please be gentle, I have a 34ft cruiser that I have just spent 6 months refitting and bringing back to life, she was destined to be chopped up and dumped. I have never attempted anything on this scale before and I'm pretty proud of myself. She has an old 1960"s perkins engine, a 4108 I think, cooled by water drawn in from pipes under the hull, there is also a small header tank that I'm told should be kept topped up with water. At the moment the header tank is not connected to anything........ I need help, any ideas where this should be connected to? Any diagrams? I know almost zero about engines, I've tried online and asking around and all I have found is the header tank feeds water to a heat exchanger and then is cooled by the water sucked in from outside.......I think I understand the principal but don't even know what a heat exchanger looks like or where it may be found, any and all help would be very well received.
tony bolger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2013, 15:14   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: None at this time
Re: perkins engine advice wanted

Quote:
Originally Posted by tony bolger View Post
She has an old 1960"s perkins engine, a 4108 I think, cooled by water drawn in from pipes under the hull, there is also a small header tank that I'm told should be kept topped up with water. At the moment the header tank is not connected to anything........