Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-05-2018, 14:39   #16

Re: Non Yanmar coolant ok?

diesel engines require diesel rated coolant.
Find your leak, fix it, top up with water just for the trip,

Then flush and fill with the recommended type and mixture. Use distilled water.
LooseGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2018, 16:04   #17

While I am no expert I don't think I've ever used the Yanmar brand coolant in my Yanmar 4JH4's. My manual specifies Texaco or Havoline. They don't even mention Yanmar coolant.

The boat builder used Texaco and put some spare jugs onboard.

While there may be disagreements on color, I'm quite sure that "not green" is important - at least in the 4JH4's. You want a name brand Extended Life or Long Life coolant.

In any case, get the premixed so you don't have to worry about finding deionized water.
CarlF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2018, 16:05   #18
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Islander 34

Quote:
Originally Posted by LooseGoose View Post
diesel engines require diesel rated coolant.
Really it depends on if the engine uses wet sleeves or not. I believe that most newer smaller Yanmar's (3GM30F) onward at least for the smaller 3 and 4 cylinder types, use a dry sleeve or no sleeve. Wet sleeve diesels require a anti-cavitation additive. Dry sleeve or no sleeve engines generally do not need anti-cavitation additives

Gas engines, the newer auto types also have some cavitation issues. For bigger engines it's far more of an issue. For a dinky 3gm30F like mine, it's a non-issue.
sailorchic34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-05-2018, 17:30   #19
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlF View Post