Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 13-12-2015, 11:57   #1

Lots of carbon build up in cyl #2 exhaust port

What does it mean when the exhaust port of cylinder #2 has a lot more carbon buildup on the exhaust port? I'm not sure what this means, I'm not much of a mechanic (yet).

I removed the exhaust manifold (to clean/repaint) and found that exhaust ports 1, 3, 4 are pretty clean, but #2 has nearly one mm thick later of buildup. I'll guess that the cylinder also has more buildup than others, but I don't have the mechanical balls to go that deep into the engine yet.

Engine: universal M50/5444 (v1902).
Engine was running fine and never had any problem starting or running, but i'm not a mechanic and wouldn't know bad noises/performance if it hit me in the face. There also was always a starting problem when the engine sat for a few months. I suspect air leak into fuel lines.

I am removing/cleaning/replacing parts because it's a 32 year old engine and lots of rust.

One thing I did notice is that injector #2 always had a wet look on it (the outside that is visible). I replaced all injectors (same reason, they are old) and cost to rebuild/test was more than the $60/each new.

Is there anything i should check or be worried about?

thanks

Old 13-12-2015, 12:10   #2
Guy

Boat: Seafarer36c
Re: Lots of carbon build up in cyl #2 exhaust port

Probably a valve guide. Live with it unless you want to pull the head and do a valve job. Slim chance you could pull the retainer and spring and put on a new seal if it has one.

Old 13-12-2015, 13:17   #3