Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-12-2013, 11:00   #1

Boat: Logan 33
Lombardini rough idle

I have a Lombardini 1404M, (4cyl, 1400cc) 550 hours, 10 yrs old. Runs well 'except' at 900rpm or lower it runs on 3 cylinders. Compression is ok, glow plugs ok, isolating the 'unit' injectors one at a time improves things, as does crimping the fuel return line as it exits the rocker cover/fuel gallery. Fuel supply pressure (after last filter, and as it enters fuel gallery) is 5-7psi which is slightly slower than workshop manual (7.9 to 9.4psi). The fuel pump diaphragm appears ok. The non-return valves above the injectors pass a simple blow/suck test.
Is the pump still the problem? If so how do you fix a self-regulating pump?
Or is it an injector? Any comment on these unique injectors would be very welcome.
Thanks.
daveNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2013, 17:19   #2

Re: Lombardini rough idle

If you know which cylinder runs rough at low RPM, swap the injectors and see if roughness follows the injector or stays at the same cylinder. You have already done a compression test, did you have the injectors tested while they were out? If the problem stays with the cylinder, you may have a pump problem. You might want to disconnect all of the lines to the injectors and place clean cardboard at their outlet, and turn the engine over with the starter. Be very careful of your eyes, hands etc, since fuel will come out at very high pressure. If your pump is faulty you should be able to see a difference in how the fuel hits, or cuts the cardboard on the bad cylinder. It is a cheap and easy test. ______Grant.
gjordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2013, 17:47   #3