Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-01-2015, 07:00   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: cruising the world
Boat: Cross 46 Trimaran
Posts: 25
How high can an engine be on the mount studs?

Hi All,
During a long rebuild on the hard, the hull of my 1969 Cross 46 trimaran shifted a bit, slightly changing the angle of the prop shaft as it goes through the cutlass bearings in the stern tube and strut.

The engine (Yanmar 4JH2TE) needed to be moved up a bit so I could align it. I'm at the very top of the mount studs on the front of the engine so will weld a 1/2" shim under those mounts. The aft mount has just under 3/8" thread showing beneath the lower nut (see pic).

Should I put a 1/8" shim under the aft mounts or is that overkill?
I'm also changing all 4 mounts during this process (giving the R&D mounts a try).
Many thanks for any advice.
Cheers,
Bruce
s/v Migration
Phuket, Thailand
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Migration Mount.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	87.7 KB
ID:	96168  
__________________

__________________
bbalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2015, 07:21   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: North Carolina
Boat: 44 footer
Posts: 923
Re: How high can an engine be on the mount studs?

How long has she been back in the water?

If I were in your shoes, I would keep the prop shaft loose and bolts out, let her float for a week or two and see if floating gives her old shape back.

Boats are funny like that, particularly wooden ones!
__________________

__________________
Zach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2015, 07:53   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: cruising the world
Boat: Cross 46 Trimaran
Posts: 25
Re: How high can an engine be on the mount studs?

Hi Zach,
I put her in the water without the shaft connected and let her sit for a week before connecting the shaft the engine. Now she's been in for 2 months. I'll check the alignment again before doing the mounts but I don't think it has changed much.
Thanks,
Bruce
__________________
bbalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2015, 08:59   #4
Registered User
 
JK n Smitty's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hingham, MA
Boat: Catalina 310
Posts: 637
Re: How high can an engine be on the mount studs?

From the photo it doesn't look too bad. I had a my mounts much higher than that. I had a 1/2" shim made of SS at a machine shop. So a 1/8" shim I probably wouldn't worry about. My boat had lasted 13 years at the top of the studs.
__________________
http://svsmitty.wordpress.com/
JK n Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
engine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Navtec Swageless Studs for 1/4 in. Wire w/ 1/2 in. UNF Thread Formosa Scott Classifieds Archive 0 14-06-2014 08:54
Yanmar 2QM20 - Why Is One Of The Head Studs So Long? charliehows Engines and Propulsion Systems 5 29-04-2014 21:38
Keel Bolts or Studs? Hughes 40 EBCAU Construction, Maintenance & Refit 2 18-09-2013 16:40
Pop Studs and Eyelet Fixing - Any Secrets? Tips? David_Old_Jersey Construction, Maintenance & Refit 11 23-10-2011 12:13



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:20.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.