Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-11-2018, 15:39   #1

Boat: Corbin 39
Head removal of Perkins 4.108

Hello

I would like to rebuilt my sailing boat engine.
I could find some good videos with details how to assemble the engine.

But i could not find any about disassembling of engine from the start.

Anyone can give me link to a video which could help me.
pr2501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2018, 16:02   #2

Boat: BUILT!!! Roberts Mauritius 43ft
Re: Head removal of Perkins 4.108

Well I'm no mechanic but I reckon here is a clip on how not to do it.

I don't think there is anything difficult in dis-assembly of a motor. The thing I find hard is not having some parts left over after I have done the re-assembly.

NOTE when you put the head back on, you need to tighten the bolts in a specific order. (If you don't know what you are doing it is probably cheaper to get someone who does.)

Clive
coopec43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2018, 16:30   #3

I was hoping to get something as next.

Old 17-11-2018, 16:35   #4
rbk

Boat: T37

I just did mine. Get the workshop manual and go to town. Drain fluids and start taking parts off. It’s not that hard. Bag and label all parts coming off for re-assembly. Hardest part was actually getting the head off for the first time in almost 40 years.
rbk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2018, 17:13   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbk View Post
I just did mine. Get the workshop manual and go to town. Drain fluids and start taking parts off. It’s not that hard. Bag and label all parts coming off for re-assembly. Hardest part was actually getting the head off for the first time in almost 40 years.