Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-10-2013, 02:37   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
gas to diesel swap

have a late 60's cabin cruiser that was was originally powered by two 292 Chevrolet inline 6 cylinder engines. I have replaced them with 2 ford senator diesel engines have them running now and every thing works except the tachometers. Anyone have any idea on how to hook them up?
__________________

__________________
justnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 06:24   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,583
Images: 240
Re: gas to diesel swap

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, justnuts.

/w Flywheel Proximity Pick-Up ? ➥ http://www.cruisersforum.com/gallery...r&imageuser=79
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 06:37   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Echo Bay, Ontario
Boat: 40' steel Trawler
Posts: 31
Re: gas to diesel swap

Quote:
Originally Posted by justnuts View Post
have a late 60's cabin cruiser that was was originally powered by two 292 Chevrolet inline 6 cylinder engines. I have replaced them with 2 ford senator diesel engines have them running now and every thing works except the tachometers. Anyone have any idea on how to hook them up?
Hi Justnuts

Unfortunately, you will need to replace the existing gasoline engine tacks with diesel engine tacks. The gasoline engine tacks have an electric pick-up on them, where-as, the diesel engine does not. This is how it has been explained to me.
I did a similar swap a few years ago.

Good Luck
Capt Nemo
__________________
Capt Nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 07:37   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Re: gas to diesel swap

The new engine are inline 6 cylinders as well, but diesel engines have no ignition coil to hook the tachometer sensor wire too. I'm thinking it must get its signal from either a crank sensor or from the alternator, but i don't know which do you remember where your tachs got there signal from?
__________________
justnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 07:43   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 5,779
Quote:
Originally Posted by justnuts View Post
The new engine are inline 6 cylinders as well, but diesel engines have no ignition coil to hook the tachometer sensor wire too. I'm thinking it must get its signal from either a crank sensor or from the alternator, but i don't know which do you remember where your tachs got there signal from?
Tach signal can come from either of the two sources you just listed. If the bell housing has a threaded hole and a magnetic tooth on the flywheel you'll need to source the parts to install a mag pickup there. Otherwise a signal is provided by the alternator, assuming it's wired to provide said signal.
__________________
Sailmonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 08:22   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,583
Images: 240
Re: gas to diesel swap

See ➥ Troubleshooting Teleflex Tachometer Gauges
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-10-2013, 09:27   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Boat: Tayana FD-12
Posts: 612
Images: 6
Re: gas to diesel swap

There is a way to do it but you need to be handy with fine tip solder iron and understand how frequency to voltage converter ICs work.
Two years ago i went from Atomic 4 gas engine with Coil sensor based analog tachometer, to westerbeake 1-108 with magnetic pickup. My main reason for doing this besides $$$, was that i wanted to use my old instrument panel and diesel tachometers do not come in 2-1/8" diameter. I had no room for a 3" or 3.5" hole on my instrument panel.
What i ended up doing is taking the tachometer unit apart and modifying the circuit board to work with magnetic pickup based signal.
Then calibrating display unit under various RPMs using a separate RPM meter. Most tachs have a potentiometer(calibration knob) in the back to use a fine screw driver and adjust the needle deflection.
Saved me few hundred dollars and more importantly, space.
Let me know if you're interested on how to do this.
__________________

__________________
phorvati is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diesel

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.