Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2010, 22:34   #1

Boat: Lucky Penny
Question Ford Lehman Hard to Start

My starboard lehman 80 hp is haunted...starts after being cold at dock for weeks but on daily use it is stubborn to start. I have tried xtra throttle, fuel pump booster (an auxillary installed by a previous owner to help with air locks), praying... It turns over but no ignition. sometimes if I leave it for a while after trying to start for a while, it will reluctantly start and then I dont want to turn it off all day.The port engine is a twin and starts every time...they are 30 yrs old with 5400 hrs. I am new to diesel engines...What should I be looking at for this problem?
tangle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 23:09   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: CyberYacht 43
Battery, Connections...

Could your battery be getting old? Has enough for a good push when cold but when hot can't push out the amps.

All starter connections tight and secure? Have a look through everything from the battery to the starter and up to the switch. Wiring is heavy and up to the job?

Starter switch in poor condition? We get a few reports of poor switches.
Boracay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 06:27   #3

Fuel pump booster ? Air locks? Sounds like you have inherited an air sucking fuel system. Does bleeding the fuel system give you a temporary fix? If so you need to go over every fuel fitting from the racor to the injector pump. Flared fittings are subject to hair line cracks.
Old 10-07-2010, 07:04   #4
Eternal Member

Boat: Ericson 27 & 18' Herrmann Catboat
Sounds like cranking speed problem (connections/wire size) or air locks.

The fuel booster is a dead giveaway....PO didn't fix the problem....just addressed a symptom.