Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-10-2018, 07:09   #1

Boat: Colvic 40' Ketch
Flooded bilge - Perkins 4107 engine bilge fall of sea water

I work in IT and we often talk about three steps to a disaster - i.e. Unsinkable, reckless speed & iceberg = get the idea? How about not greasing sterngland properly, failed bilge pump and delay returning to boat?

This is embarrasing, Before I left my boat after a 8 hour trip I gave the sterngland greaser a twist but it was at the bottom so I didnt re-fill it and screw it until pressure. I left the boat several weeks due to illness. I then had a call to say my bow was six inches below the boot top.

I went down and found the water level 6" above the floor on the lower deck. The Bilge pump had failed. I pumped it out and discovreed that the Perkins 4107 was in water up to the centre of the Jabsco pump to the temp detector in the exhaust.

The fuel / air side was not submerged but the starter motor and dipstick was underwater.

I have used a Pela extractor and removed around 10 - 15 litres of water and oil. I took it to the bottom and refilled with clean oil and changed the oil filter. I havent tried to start it as the battery has gone down to 5V.

I am leaving it a week and then I will do an oil change and try to start it.

My questions, eventually, 1. Is an oil flush worth it? I have read good and bad about these. What other problems can I anticipate / deal with? ( I know the starter motor is an unknown.
FionaJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2018, 08:31   #2

Boat: Bruce Bingham Christina 49
Re: Flooded bilge - Perkins 4107 engine bilge fall of sea water

Would at least change the oil and filters a couple of time in the engine. Also check your gear box for water. If in the gear box change that oil also.