Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-05-2016, 17:22   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 348
Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

OK, my head is starting to spin here so thought I'd see if anyone knew the answer to this.

On our pilothouse we have gauges only down in the cabin. I want to mount a water temperature gauge up in the cockpit as well so I can see engine temp anytime.

We currently have 2" Faria gauge in the panel down below. I would LIKE to keep that gauge style and just get another Faria 2" to mount in the cockpit.

BUT, I can't tell if I'm finding a sender that would work with Faria gauges or not. Faria does not make (AFAIK) a dual sender that is 1/4" NPT, which is what I have to work with (really don't want to drill and tap this to 3/8", but I guess that's a possibility). I have found a Sierra 1/4" NPT dual sender but can't tell if it's compatible, because I can't find any resistance ranges for the Sierra sender (found Faria resistance chart: http://www.overtons.com/assets/prodman/IS0085E.pdf)

Anyone know a way of finding out if this sender is compatible? Or am I stuck using senders and gauges from same manufacturer only (in this case I guess I would go with Sierra gauges then)?

Currently have something that APPEARS to be a Faria Chesapeake SS gauge, but even if that's not what I have currently for $34 I'm willing to buy two and replace one in the pilothouse.

So... long story short (too late), could I buy two of these Chesapeake SS 13804 gauges:
Products - 2" - Temperature gauges
... and use this Sierra TS26651 sender:
Amazon.com : Sierra International TS26651 240 Degree Dual Station Marine Temperature Sender with NPT Thread & Terminal Type 10-32 Stud, Size 1/4-18 : Boat Compasses : Sports & Outdoors

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

-- Bass
__________________

__________________
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 18:29   #2
DoÖ or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

My idea would be to attach an n2k interface to the engine panel and use a multi-function display wherever you need read-outs. Raymarine, Garmin, Furuno, B&G, Simrad, Maretron and about every other brand have a suitable display. Actisense has the interface box.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 06:02   #3
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,982
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

I think, from the pics on that link, those SS 13804s are NOT "Chesapeake" gauges. Chesapeake gauges would look like this: http://faria-instruments.com/styles.php

Happens I have two Chesapeake temp gauges that I've replaced, if you end up being interested in that. (They work fine; I'm just gradually replacing all our analog gauges with digital.)

The question about senders will come down to what resistances they pass at various temp levels. Call Sierra and ask?

The Faria gauges will likely "work" with any sender; it'll be about whether they are usefully accurate or not.

I say that because during my changeover from analog to digital, I discovered a mis-match. Our engine coolant temp senders as delivered (VDO) should have been replaced with something like Teleflex. All that time, I thought the gauges were wrong, since they always -- at least consistently, though -- showed much lower temps than our engines like. Turns out when I installed the digital gauges and chose the expected sender setting during set-up, they too showed almost exactly the same temps the Faria gauges displayed. A little sender examination solved that...

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 06:13   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,573
Images: 240
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger42c View Post
... The question about senders will come down to what resistances they pass at various temp levels. Call Sierra and ask? ...
Sierra Tech support: 1-877-663-8396.

Dual station senders have 1/2 the resistance value of the single station senders.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 09:03   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 348
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger42c View Post
I think, from the pics on that link, those SS 13804s are NOT "Chesapeake" gauges. Chesapeake gauges would look like this: Classic Styling
Right you are, although the Chesapeakes are listed on this page I linked to the images at the top aren't representative, your link is... that's the exact gauge I currently have in one spot.
__________________
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 09:18   #6
Registered User
 
wunderluster's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Saint Petersburg, Florida
Boat: CSY 33
Posts: 167
Send a message via MSN to wunderluster
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

You should be able to get a 3/8 to 1/4 adapter for the sending unit rather than drilling.
__________________
wunderluster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 09:19   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Coast Florida
Boat: Chris Craft 38 Commander 1965
Posts: 110
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

Here is Sierra/Teleflex sender info. Check it against what you need.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf teleflex senders.pdf (100.0 KB, 37 views)
__________________
Squanderbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 09:19   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 348
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GordMay View Post
Sierra Tech support: 1-877-663-8396.

Dual station senders have 1/2 the resistance value of the single station senders.
Thanks Gord... not sure why it never occurs to me to ask manufacturers directly, probably have some bad experience in my past

And thanks for the info on the resistance for dual senders... so far my research is showing the Sierra sender won't work, but I have contacted Sierra and Faria and will see what they say.

-- Bass
__________________
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 10:22   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 348
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wunderluster View Post
You should be able to get a 3/8 to 1/4 adapter for the sending unit rather than drilling.
Thanks, if you're aware of one I'd certainly appreciate the link. I ordered one before and while the female side was threaded for 3/8" and the male side was threaded for 1/4", the male end (1/4" end) was too small for the sender to fit into so it wouldn't work.
__________________
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 10:44   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 348
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squanderbucks View Post
Here is Sierra/Teleflex sender info. Check it against what you need.
Thanks... been confused on this, are Sierra and Teleflex the same?

Seems like the Teleflex sender might work with the Faria gauges:
Faria sender values: 100F = 450 ohms, 175F = 99 ohms, 250F = 29.6 ohms
Teleflex sender values: 75F = 600-800 ohms, 212F = 55 ohms
(Comparing single sender values, know the duals are 1/2... or I know that now)
__________________
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 11:01   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Coast Florida
Boat: Chris Craft 38 Commander 1965
Posts: 110
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

Sorry wrong charts. Here they are attached.
__________________
Squanderbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 11:04   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 348
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squanderbucks View Post
Sorry wrong charts. Here they are attached.
Nothing attached to this reply?
__________________
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 11:07   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Coast Florida
Boat: Chris Craft 38 Commander 1965
Posts: 110
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

Here is Faria spec sheets from their website and it appears the OHMs range is different so a Teleflex/Sierra would not work.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Faria.pdf (137.5 KB, 36 views)
__________________
Squanderbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 11:10   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Coast Florida
Boat: Chris Craft 38 Commander 1965
Posts: 110
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

Senders for Sierra/Teleflex data. Sorry closed upload window too soon.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Teleflex -Ohms Chart.pdf (21.4 KB, 26 views)
File Type: pdf Telefles Senders.pdf (141.9 KB, 32 views)
__________________
Squanderbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-05-2016, 11:18   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Hailey, ID
Boat: Gulf 32 & Nimble 20
Posts: 348
Re: Faria gauges with Sierra sender... possible?

Thanks everyone for the help, hopefully this will help others if they search on it.

Got confirmation from the Faria folks that the Sierra senders are actually made by VDO and WILL NOT work with Faria gauges.

So I guess I need to just change out the Faria gauge for a Sierra and hope it doesn't look too funny, then put second Sierra in cockpit.

Sigh.

-- Bass
__________________

__________________
basssears is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faria temperature gauge problems Jetexas Engines and Propulsion Systems 6 30-10-2015 06:18
faria temperature gauge failure. jpgriffin Our Community 3 12-04-2015 10:24
Registration in Sierra Leone kravmaga Commercial Posts 2 19-06-2013 06:32
One Fuel Sender, Two Gauges. Captin_Kirk Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 31-03-2011 06:40
GPS NMEA output from the Sierra AirCard 881 working Athowhen OpenCPN 0 22-09-2010 12:47



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:17.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.