Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2014, 11:15   #16

Boat: Snipe, Roughwater 41, and Islander 36
Re: Falling short of max engine RPMs

Restriction of the fuel supply. Is it running warmish? Brown exhaust?
CLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 11:38   #17

Boat: None,build the one shown of glass, had many from 6' to 48'.

Old fuel came up. I hadn't thought about it. I doubt that is it if your exhaust smoke isn't black. It is a thought to stick your pickup in a 2 gal. can of fresh fuel just to eliminate it. It isn't impossible if the boat has set up for awhile. Lord knows I'm no expert. Hopefully someone in the business will chime in. PS don't air lock your fuel line if you do it.
Cadence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2014, 12:23   #18

Boat: Island Packet 420

Thanks for all the suggestions everyone.. I'll try to go through an answer any questions, keep in mind that we've only had the boat for a couple weeks now and have only put about 3 hours on the motor while delivering her to her new slip.

I have no idea how old the fuel is. The boat wasn't used much over the past 14 months or so at least, fuel tank is currently only half full, so I know I need to top it off. No water has shown up in the Racor yet though.

The engine was running warm during delivery. Initially I was running at WOT (2400 rpms) and the engine heated up to ~210. I then backed the RPMs down to ~2k and the temp came down to 190. Still warmer than it should be. From what I've read, and the comments here, a clogged exhaust elbow could be causing both the low RPM and the high temp, so I will definitely be checking that out as soon as I can. Stupid job is keeping me from working on my boat!