Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-09-2007, 00:33   #1

Boat: Dix 43 CC, steel, 43 ft
Send a message via Skype™ to Stranded Mariner
Engine size

I am going to build a Dix 43, with steel hull and centre cockpit. I hope to start within the next 2 months, and am at present selecting systems and equipment.
An important one is of course the choice of propulsion engine. The standard design plans recommend a 54 hp Yanmar.
Now I am a marine engineer, and one of the problems of people in our profession is to want everything a bit bigger, stronger etc.

So I have been thinking about a 75 hp Yanmar or Volvo Penta instead of 54 hp. I was thinking it would be good to have a bigger engine in case I would have to tow somebody, or in heavy weather or current. On the other hand there is the extra weight of a bigger engine, gear and possibly extra fuel tanks.

A bit of dilemma. It's the first time that I have to deal with the details of a design. Any advice for me?

Thanks in advance,
Andreas
Old 18-09-2007, 01:03   #2

Hi Andreas
Im building a steel hull 38 foot Centre Cockpit. The original specs was for a 30 to 35 HP. I am putting in a 53 HP isuzu (keel cooled of course). The build weight is 10 000 KG half tanked......hope that helps. Do remember that diesel in the future is going to be vey expensive unless you live in Bahrain or similar..
cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-09-2007, 01:49   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: CyberYacht 43
Continuous Rating...

When choosing the engine gearbox for my steel Roberts 44 Offshore I initially considered the Yanmar but eventually went with the John Deere 4045D (75 hp continuous).