Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2018, 12:50   #1

Boat: Hanse 348
Engine Oil Extraction

I have been using this device for the past 8 years on a yanmar 3ym30

https://www.westmarine.com/buy/west-...23?recordNum=1

Put one end into the dipstick tube almost to the bottom, pump and wait until it extracts via a vacuum.

However, you need to have oil relatively warm. I usually do this once a year, at the end of the year before it is hauled. So i get to dock, wait 30 minutes or so , extract oil, change filter, re fill, run engine to distribute oil while feeding antifreeze into strainer until I see the pink stuff come out the side, then shut everything down.

This doesn't really get all the oil out, I pump it , wait, pump it , wait, etc.

Wondering if there are better ways to get the oil out. Thanks.
jbinbi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 16:49   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: 1976 Sabre 28-2
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Re: Engine Oil Extraction

Suction pumps work fine, no real need to get the last 1/4" of oil out. Assume you are running the engine and getting the oil hot and everything mixed up before you pump it out.
roverhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 16:53   #3

Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40

We have used that device for the last 3 years. Best purchase I ever made.

Our Volvos do have a separate tube that actually sucks from the bottom of the oilpan though. This allows us to extract pretty much all the oil. Are you sure your Yanmar doesn't have that option? Ours was hidden and I didn't know about it till someone showed me.
travellerw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2018, 17:53   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38