Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-08-2008, 23:39   #1

Boat: Schioning 12.3 "Wilderness" Bi-Rig under construction
Send a message via Skype™ to Whimsical
Drive belts

Hopefully the more mechanically experienced may offer suggestions.
I have a pair of 20 Hp Lombardinis and am intending to make one into a DC generator come desalinator. I will use a large frame alternator of about 150 amps and a cat pump with electric clutch.
The pulley on the motor has 2 grooves which are, I think, the small A type V belt. I don't like the idea of one belt for each as the load would be too great for one small belt and the tension required would be a big pull on the crank. I am intending to replace the front pulley and use a different style but there in lies my question.
What style belt would have the lowest loading on the crank for a given amout of power transfer. Would it be the multi groved flat belt that is now common on cars or would a toothed belt be better. Then all that remains is to find the bits that will provide the appropriate ratios.

Mike
Whimsical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 12:59   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Hartley Tahitian 45ft. Leisure Lady
Toothed is the lowest load, highest power, biggest noise. Ever here the blowers on drag cars wind up as they run own the track. The whine out does the engine. That is the noise from a toothed belt under load. A flat ribbed belt does pretty well. But the pulleys are hard to find, at least here anyway. A "V" belt is still the most common easiest and cheapest method IMO. But times are changing and others may have more informed opinions.

For God so loved the world..........He didn't send a committee.
Alan Wheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 13:03   #3
Moderator Emeritus