Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 19-05-2016, 07:22   #1

Boat: 1993 Lagoon 37 TPI
Diesel losing power - black exhaust

Wife and I started on a four week cruise yesterday with high hope and no more than the usual anxiety. After motoring for abut for about 4 hours (no wind), I noticed the port engine on our Lagoon 37 TPI was losing power. The RPMs had declined from 2200 to about 1600 and pushing the throttle forward (just to see effect) caused to increase. I shut the engine down and then: 1) changed primary fuel filter, 2) changed secondary fuel filter, and 3) dove to insure that the propeller was not fowled by a line. When started, the engine (Perkins Perama M30 - 27HP) seemed to be OK while in neutral, but failed to attain normal RPMs while in gear, and the water exhaust had black clouds of soot.

We limped back to our marine on the starboard engine and now I am trying to figure out the problem. Lets just say I am not a diesel mechanic. Any ideas what might be happening?

Old 19-05-2016, 07:29   #2

Boat: Formosa 41
Re: Diesel losing power - black exhaust

I'm not a diesel mechanic either but if it runs fine in neutral, with normal revs and no black smoke, something after the engine is putting a load on the engine to produce the black smoke.

I know. Not real helpful. Sorry.

Old 19-05-2016, 08:23   #3

Boat: Beneteau First 42

Ten bucks says you have a clogged/obstructed mixing elbow.
"It is not so much for its beauty that the Sea makes a claim upon men's hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air, that emanation from the waves, that so wonderfully renews a weary spirit."
svHyLyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2016, 08:28   #4

Boat: Formosa 41

Would it run ok in neutral, maintaining high revs with an obstructed mixing elbow?
Old 19-05-2016, 09:34   #5

Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 430

Before a diesel tech chimes in I just wanted to add a few questions.