Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-12-2006, 14:53   #1

Boat: Looking for a new boat
Biodiesel Question

Does anyone know anything about biodiesel conversions for excisting engines. I am no mechanic, actually a sound engineer by trade, and know a lot of bands who have converted their vans to biosiesel. I have heard of nothing but positve results. I also have also heard that biodiesel is very easy to get and make. There is a women who lives outside my apartment and owns a biodiesel car and it is very pleasant to wake up in the morning and smell Mcdonalds outide my window. Wouldn't mind smelling that in my boat at least better than gas fumes
unbusted67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 15:53   #2
cruiser

Boat: Searching for a Cape Dory 28 or 30
Send a message via AIM to kydivemaster Send a message via Yahoo to kydivemaster
There is no need to convert anything to run boidiesel just pump and run. It's WVO that requires convertion. Waste Veg. Oil requires preheating to make it combustable. But true B80 is fine and runs great in all diesels.

Keith
kydivemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2006, 17:04   #3

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now
Quote:
Originally Posted by kydivemaster
There is no need to convert anything to run boidiesel just pump and run. It's WVO that requires convertion. Waste Veg. Oil requires preheating to make it combustable. But true B80 is fine and runs great in all diesels.

Keith
Not quite!

I deal with this stuff daily at our fuel sites and the truck shop. Right now in the cold we're having to deal with filter changes due to the stuff is seperating below freezing and causing filters to plug up. And thats at a 20% mix. Pure bio can eat the seals and fuel lines right out of older equipment.