Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-03-2010, 18:40   #1
KTP

About to Install One of the New Torqeedo Models

Hi guys,

Newbie here. I am a wanna-be cruiser but only have a Montgomery 17 sailboat right now. We sail her in the Puget Sound and have been getting a lot of valuable experience (plus we took 5 US sailing courses to prepare for when we get into blue water sailing).

Anyway, I just ordered one of the new Torqeedo 1003 electric outboard type motors (comes with a 400 watt Lithium Manganeese battery). I looked at the 801 model a year or so ago and liked it but was worried a bit about the ruggedness (since it folds up and all). This new line looks pretty sweet though...completely sealed, even submersible for an hour at 3 feet! They improved many things according to the literature and boosted the power a bit over the 801. I currently use a 2.5hp yamaha outboard to launch and retrieve mostly and plan to use this as either a backup or main engine depending how well it works.

I know this is a small motor for a small boat, but I was wondering if any of you have tried this particular 1003 model on your dinghy or runabout yet? I will post back on how it performs on my M17 and possibly how it performs under pure solar power (I have quite a bit of panels I can spread around the boat as an experiment). I wish they had a mode on it to turn it into a generator to recharge itself while on a run...then on paper it would be perfect.