Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2015, 12:51   #871
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Multihulls - cats and Tris
Re: Why Do Catamarans Motor Nearly 100%

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polux View Post
It is very funny that you think that having a big experience sailing catamarans, or having one is needed to know the potential sailing ability of them, or even that is more important than not to be biased about that.
Wow, no knowledge and experience is apparently a good thing.

You know what. I have decided I am an excellent Brain Surgeon, I haven't actually done any surgery but I've read the books.

Hang on - no wait I want to be a rocket scientists as well, I have the same abysmal lack of actual experience as brain surgery so that makes me qualified.

NO!! WAIT!! I have it, I want to be a Brain Scientist, no experience with brains or science.

By the way, the hull shape on the wild oats is all wrong, I'm not a naval architect and I haven't actually sailed wild oats but I did walk past a mono one day at the Yacht club so I think that means I am over qualified.

FFS.
Old 11-12-2015, 12:57   #872

Boat: Nauticat 32

Quote:
Finally some data regarding the subject of the thread.

It regards the comparative the average use of engine by cruisers between monohulls and multihulls, comparing the engine hours that were used by each type of sailboat on the ARC+ (between Cabo Verde and Santa Lucia) that was made by 43 monohulls and 15 multihulls.

The average engine hours on multihulls was 15 hours.

The average engine hours on monohulls was 5 hours.