Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2018, 15:02   #1

Boat: Schionning Waterline 1480
Whats it like in an upturned catamaran ?

I have an escape hatch in each hull and it has 12 wing nuts holding each of them on and I wonder how easy/hard is it going to be to remove if someone is in bad weather and in that stressful situation.

Has anyone experienced this ?
Old 11-09-2018, 16:42   #2

Re: Whats it like in an upturned catamaran ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_S View Post
I have an escape hatch in each hull and it has 12 wing nuts holding each of them on and I wonder how easy/hard is it going to be to remove if someone is in bad weather and in that stressful situation.

Has anyone experienced this ?
You must of just read the 44 Helia sinking post above. I've got no experience but would like to know as well.
KingGuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 16:50   #3

Boat: Currently in between

Sounds like one of those things you should practice ahead of time, kinda like a lifeboat drill. See what it takes to turn them, even if stuck, and have that secured near the hatch so in a real emergency you can find it and use it. JMHO
Old 11-09-2018, 23:43   #4

Boat: Island Packet 40

There's a sea survival book about three Kiwi guys on a trimaran called "Rose Noell" which overturned. From memory they drifted for 129 days before washing up in a bay on the New Zealand coast. The authorities were extremely suspicious because they were in pretty good health and it was suspected that they could not have been adrift for that length of time and still be in good physical condition. The author had some good suggestions re survival in an upturned multi hull.