Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-05-2015, 21:46   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2015
Location: Brisbane
Boat: simpson wildside
Posts: 1
Tansducers and Duracore

Hi just wondering if any one experiences GPS /depth reading just blanking out randomly.Our recently puchased cat has Garmin 700Series with a in hull transducer. Does the duracore create air pockets that interfere with the reading? Does it needs to have a through Hull or Transom mounted transducer
Any ideas welcomed
__________________

__________________
Neil Cullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2015, 01:31   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
44'cruisingcat's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7,453
Images: 69
Re: Tansducers and Duracore

Duracore has an end grain balsa core. It's not surprising a depth transducer would have trouble "seeing through" it. You could decore a section and fill it with solid glass/resin, or fit a through hull.
__________________

__________________
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2015, 04:56   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,577
Images: 240
Re: Tansducers and Duracore

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Neil.

Duracore is a compression molded composite panel, combining high strength fiberglass reinforced plastic (FRP) laminate skins with lightweight balsa or thermoplastic foam core material.
As such, it will interfere with your transducer.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-05-2015, 06:30   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 258
Re: Tansducers and Duracore

As interest, my 'ducer seems to be shooting just fine through our 1/4" Western Red Cedar core. It is somewhat more dense, I suppose.
__________________
paxfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-2015, 03:28   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 206
Re: Tansducers and Duracore

a failing transducer will sometimes work intermittently. Before I started any major repair replace the transducer.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________
Sailingcouple13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
core, racor

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have heard of people going back and forth from USA to MX and back and no a Passport shorebird2 The Sailor's Confessional 33 02-06-2014 05:29



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:41.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.