Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-12-2013, 15:17   #1

Solid Glass Multihull

Let's get the fact that I am a novice at all of this out of the way firstly.
After reading endless accounts of problems with cored hulls, I have gravitated to looking for a multihull of solid glass below the waterline. I already know they are much heavier, less efficient, and sail like two logs strapped together with a twig in between. I don't care. What I'll spend in extra time sailing, I won't spend in time on the hard repairing the hull.
I know of the Island Packet Cat, and not much else. Suggestions on brands to investigate will be greatly appreciated, motor or sail, but sail is preferred. Note: "suggestions", not sales pitches, arguments, or mudslinging please. I'm trying to learn without being humiliated for my opinions and you guys are a tough crowd. Thanks!
Pointless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 15:27   #2

Boat: 11meter Power catamaran
Re: Solid Glass Multihull

I believe all the Deans (SAfrican) cats were built this way.

Do not agree with with your view re cored hulls however. Very few if any Aus built hulls are built without coring and they are floating. But then you do not want to here that.

Good luck.
downunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 15:29   #3

I was told my old (TPI) Lagoon 42 was solid below the waterline.... and it certainly was at the thru hull locations.... but others have said not... so not sure. Never noticed the typical "shelving" you can see with a cored hull... but might have missed it.... personally I would avoid coring below the waterline myself... have seen a multitude of issues... but it doesnt mean you cant get a good one.