Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2018, 22:05   #1

Seychelles to Dubai on a Mahe 36

Hello,

I'm currently in the process of purchasing a mahe 36 in the Seychelles.

I live in Dubai and will eventually want to bring it back there after I'm done exploring the Seychelles.

Can anyone advise what's the best way to do this ? I'm relatively new to the sailing game.

Could I organise someone to ferry it back or would shipping it be a better idea ?

Thanks for your help !

dxbpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 23:53   #2

Boat: Leopard 40 (2009) & Crownline 250CR
Re: Seychelles to Dubai on a Mahe 36

Shipping would be easier but probably more expensive. You would need to have a cradle built as well as they donít like loading boats without them. I shipped a large powerboat from the USA to Mozambique on its trailer.
As to sailing her to Dubai I think you have the risk of being close to Yemen coming up and I think the trade winds have turned so in the afternoon the predominant winds are from the north/ northeast but Iím not sure of that far north, making it beating into the wind the whole delivery. Possible but very uncomfortable.
I fetched my Leopard from Seychelles in July instead of waiting til August September and beat into the wind all the way south. (May June July is easier to go north and the Aug to May is easier going south)

MikeFergie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 23:56   #3

Boat: Leopard 40 (2009) & Crownline 250CR

I hope you have aircons in your boat or if not there are lots of suppliers in Dubai that can fit them. You will need to be on a walk on with shore power in Dubai and those aircons will need to be constantly running there. Your boat will be unbearable in summer without them.