Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-10-2014, 04:11   #1

Boat: Privilege 435
Second Forestay on a Catamaran?

Hello everybody, I'm quite new to this, so excuse any mistakes I might make.

So far I have done a lot of monohull sailing, but eventually I want to own a cat for long distance cruising (the admiral insists). I have sailed a lot with a friend who owns a mono. He has 2 forestays with furler each, one with a smaller foresail and one with a genoa. He claims that a partly reefed genoa is not working as efficient as the smaller foresail and using the genoa partly reefed will put too much strain on the sail and therefore life expectancy will be much lower.

But all the modern production cats have one forestay only (except Privilege) and a have never seen a modified rigging so far.

So my questions are:
- does anybody of you cat sailors have an opinion about the issue? (I'm sure you do)
- has anybody of you extended your rigg with a second forestay?

Thanks for your comments
SwissMocha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2014, 04:40   #2

Boat: Outremer 50
Send a message via Skype™ to Dave852
Re: Second forestay on a catamaran?

The St Francis 50 has an inner forestay, it's setup to fly a storm jib though.

Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
Dave852 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2014, 05:13   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave852 View Post
The St Francis 50 has an inner forestay,...
Thanks for your reply. I was thinking more in the 44' range
And the inner forestay for a storm jib would be more like a cutter rig. What I have in mind is really a second forestay which would be quite close to the first one.
Old 13-10-2014, 05:37   #4