Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2010, 22:22   #1

Safest Family Cruising Multihull ?

I'm new to sailing and intend to continuing sharpening my sailing skills on a daysailer, but my wife and I are talking about a long-term dream of a year or more of live-aboard sailing sometime within the next ten years. We want a boat that'll fit mom and dad and three kids -- and we're also considering multihulls. Priorities in order of importance: safety, roominess, maintainability. Livability is important, but I don't need leather upholstery. Budget is up to 200k. We're open to both mono- and multi-hull recommendations. We're in no hurry at all to buy.

I'd also welcome any book recommendations for long-term travelling. I'm not planning on being rich, so any books on self-sustained sailng are welcome. So far, the only sailing literature I've read is Moby Dick and The Rhyme of the Ancient Mariner.
morrobay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 08:28   #2

Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 43 & S2 6.9
I think the safest boat is the one with a captain who has good common sense as well as experience.

From a roominess standpoint, a Catamaran is definetely going to give you more space. It has a much more open feel to it as well.

I'm not sure one particular boat is necessarily safer then another and I'd think it would really depend on the area and conditions it was sailed in.
maytrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 15:23   #3

Boat: Prout Manta 38' Catamaran - Sunspot Baby