Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2008, 06:06   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Port Charlotte, Florida
Boat: Lagoon 440
Posts: 106
Raymarine ST290 wind instrument

My Schionning Wilderness 56ft cat has a rotating mast and thus two Raymarine ST290 wind transducers mounted on poles, one each extending from either side of the davits at the stern. I have seen cats so equipped with a transfer switch to select the signal from the windward transducer to the one ST290 pod and analog instrument at the helm however the local Raymarine guys are scratching their heads at this foreign arrangement (not too many cats with rotating masts in Hong Kong).
Can anyone advise how to hook up the switch to select either transducer ?? Each has a four core cable running to the pod.
Grateful for your advice.
Cheers

Paul
__________________

__________________
DHHong Kong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 09:47   #2
Registered User
 
Beausoleil's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Potomac Shores, VA USA
Boat: Formosa 51 Aft Cockpit Ketch - "Beausoleil"
Posts: 565
Images: 1
Simple - just use a 4PDT (4 Pole - Double Throw) switch as illustrated here. Similar to a DPDT (Double Pole - Double Throw), it will switch four leads simultaneously - in this case from the old windward sensor to the new one.

You could get really fancy and fab an electronic 4-pole relay which could sense when the bow goes thru the wind on a tack and switch automatically. It would probably have to sample the two direction leads from the transducer...
__________________

__________________
Cap'n Jon (KB1HTW)
S/V Beausoleil -1979 Formosa 51 Ketch
"If it's gonna happen, it's gonna happen out there." - Captain Ron
Beausoleil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 16:51   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Port Charlotte, Florida
Boat: Lagoon 440
Posts: 106
Thanks Cap'n John - The four pole switch should work and I think I will try it and see what happens. The Raymarine guys don't agree that the signal cables from the transducers can be switched and that each needs to talk to a dedicated pod. I am clearly out of my depth with this but, alternatively, I wonder if I can use the two pods and then switch the outputs he instrument.
I'll keep your fancy idea until later.........................
Congratulations on setting off on your cruise - I have 15 months to wait !!
Cheers
Paul
__________________
DHHong Kong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 21:11   #4
Registered User
 
mark_morwood's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cruising (Atlantic -> Med -> Carib -> Pacific)
Boat: Vancouver 36, Hobie 33, Catana 48, now all with new owners
Posts: 205
The 4pdt switch will handle switching the signal wires for you. You may however run into problems with calibration of the transducers to the pods. I haven't used the ST290's but with the older Raymarine instruments I believe the calibration is managed in the head unit, so you won't be able to get both transducers calibrated.

You may want to go with your alternative idea of two pods, and switch the outputs from the pods.

Mark.
__________________
mark_morwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Navman Wind Instrument - Opinions halyardz Marine Electronics 20 13-11-2015 07:57
NMEA 0183 wind instrument? hglad Marine Electronics 2 18-08-2008 10:29
Raymarine ST60 or ST50 Wind - Wanted dworkman Classifieds Archive 3 07-06-2008 12:19
ST60 Wind Instrument velero Marine Electronics 1 05-04-2005 10:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.