Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2008, 12:07   #1

Exclamation Purchase document ?

Hi all not sure where in this forum this should be.
I am in the process of buying a Catamaran from a French person in Europe he only speaks French , i dont have a problem with the language but im after some reccomendations as to a what form to present as far purchase agreement. Any thoughts please.
redbreast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 12:43   #2

Boat: 58 Taswell AS
You will need a bill of sale - downloadable from the internet. Make it out for "$1 and other valuable considerations" for tax purposes. If you intend to document the boat in the US, I think you will also need the "carpenters certificate" that the original owner should have had. I'm not a lawyer nor do I play one on TV.
speciald@ocens. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 13:04   #3

purchase docs....

Hey Red,

You very well might want some document proving the boat was taken off a registration register IF you plan on papering the boat somewhere other then where it is now. I had to provide this once for Delaware with a previous overseas reggie and then again the guy I sold to had to do it for Hong Kong. In those two cases it was a simple office visit the first time and an email to Delaware the second.

Once you pay in full it could be harder to get the sellers attention to help you out and I believe the name on that old reggie is the only one who can cancel it.

best,
J
jaydh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 13:38   #4

Boat: FP Tobago 35
I bought my boat in France. We had to go to 2 different ofices to "de-register" the boat.