Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2010, 16:20   #1

Office on Boat

The boats I am considering are the Lagoon 440 or perhaps the new 450. Since I plan on living aboard, I would like to put an office in a cabin (I am self-employed). It would be in the forward cabin, in the port hull. Does anyone think this would not be a good location, or good idea?
WhataWorld! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2010, 14:42   #2

This is what I am thinking about. See attachment: (it is a quick and dirty drawing of the layout, done on microsoft paint. I know, I know, I have unnatural talent. )

Office in port forward cabin. I am a financial trader, so this would allow me to work wherever I have an internet connection.

Remove beds and have custom desk retrofitted. Aeron chair attached to the floor, with a sliding mechanism to adjust distance to the desk. pin-locking mechanism to prevent chair from swiveling while underway. Trading set-up: 3 LED monitors (low power consumption), and 2 desktops, one for trading and one for everything else (redundancy as well as prevention of data corruption.) Desktops are mounted to the desk, and have solid-state drives for energy efficiency and liquid cooling for heat dissipation.

What do you guys think?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lagoon450_layout_3_cabin OFFICE.JPG
Views:	689
Size:	54.2 KB
ID:	18432  
Old 13-08-2010, 14:46   #3

Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
So my question is: What is an office in today's world? My laptop, smartphone, and internet connection is my office, it doesn't require a dedicated room. I'd feel perfectly comfortable anywhere on the boat I could sit.
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2010, 14:54   #4