Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-11-2014, 02:18   #1

Newbie wants a CAT

Hello all,

I've been reading up on the forums here and elsewhere for a while regarding catamarans... now I am ready to take the plunge but I have some serious questions whose answer might help me out.... about me: US citizen, FL resident, will be in MD for a couple of months Dec & Jan 2014/15...

1. What is the acceptable asking vs bid price for say a 2007 Lagoon owners version sitting in Panama... asking price is 220K... what would be reasonable (not ZRERO) low/medium/high bid numbers? And the bid would be a pre-survey one open to change if short-comings are discovered.

2. Does anyone know of a 2007and newer (I am a complete newbie re maintenance so I would like to approach a gradual learning curve) 37ft - 42ft cruising catamaran (that is not a one of a kind) for under 200K?

3. How difficult IS maintenance. I have read a lot of horror stories and watched that new movie with Robert Redford (probably not a great idea right now). Can one (preferably myself) get to ALL internal systems while afloat (i.e. water hoses, electrical cabling, etc.) by removing panels or are these items too difficult to reach?

4. I'm looking to "fill her up" and find a deserted island in the Caribbean...

5. Do I NEED an ASA Catamaran certificate? Does it have any benefits toward the insurance? And speaking of insurance, what would annual insurance on something like this (between 150K and 200K, 37-42ft, 2007+) catamaran look like?

...and finally, any tips or "watch-outs" for a first time buyer?
Tdh001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2014, 04:05   #2

Boat: Boatless
Re: Newbie wants a CAT

No deserted islands in the Caribbean but food is much cheaper in Panama than in the Caribbean Islands.