Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-06-2013, 14:52   #1

Needing advise

I'm new to the forum and would like some advise. Our children have just given my wife and I a month-long bareboat excursion anywhere in the world we wish to go. We are in our late 60's. I have 12 years experience as the owner and captain of a commercial fishing vessel (long-line) in Alaska and have also had one offshore experience on a monohull from Hawaii to Alaska. My wife has no experience whatever but is excited at the prospect.

My intention is to get ASA certified as soon as possible then make a decision as to where to take advantage of this bare-boating excursion.

I would appreciate any comments or suggests as we begin our planning. My wife and I have researched and like the idea of a catamaran. If all goes well, we hope to be in a buyer's market for a used 40 footer.
Young at heart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2013, 15:21   #2

Boat: Twin Otter de Havilland Floatplane
Re: Needing advise

Hi! Two world class areas with some of the best sailing waters, in my opinion, are: 1) The US and British Virgin Islands to the Grenadines (too many islands/countries to name), and 2) French Polynesia (Tahiti, Moorea, Bora Bora, Huahine, the Marquesas (several atolls)), all the way to and including Fiji. Trip # 2 is pricier than # 1, but should be attempted at least once in your lifetime. By far, it is the best of the best in cruising. Keep us posted! Sail away!

Mauritz
Old 16-06-2013, 15:21   #3

Boat: 34' Crowther tri sold 16' Kayak now

Summer Med. Winter Carib. You do not need any certification or skills at all to do the bareboat in the carib. Just go!
Old 17-06-2013, 05:10   #4

Boat: currently boatless

Hello Young at heart,