Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2013, 20:50   #61

Boat: Atlantic 42
Re: Most Reliable Multihull Boat

Quote:
At a certain point it's going to depend on the specific boat. Any well cared for machine ages well. A poorly cared for one doesn't.
Well said! I've been cruising for 8 years and have seen all sort of boats being repaired in exotic conditions. Most of the time it's those whose owners aren't the best (or don't care) about maintenance. Fortunately my husband is super man when it comes to boat maintenance and having about every spare part that one might need.

www.dksail.com
CatGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 07:10   #62
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Leopard 46 catamaran
Hi Contrail,
Very interesting about the Leopard 45/47. We are looking to go a bit up in size and were considering a 47. Can you tell me how they perform?
Speed under power, under sail?
Thanks,
Dave
davecalvert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 11:41   #63

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talbot View Post
Statistics are wonderfull things, you can make them prove anything. It is all in the qualfying question.

So "how many cats sold per model", has less traction than "how many cats per model are sold to owner sailors who intend to keep their boats for at least a decade".

The first numbers will be hopelessly distorted by the charter market, whereas the second will be for the somewhat more discerning owner with an eye to how the quality will affect the eventual value.

That's a very good point. Asking the right question in the right context more often yields the answer you're seeking.