Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2015, 04:49   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 21
Maxim 38 Fuse

Dear Forum

I am a new owner of a 2002 Maxim 38.
There is a fuse box in the cabin, which rather then have fuses has connectors. What are the name of these where can I find them? DOes anyone have a diagram of these of which one is what.

Also the diesel filter before engine from the Tank. What make is it. It has a water remover at the moment

best rgds
Paresh
__________________

__________________
Moogli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 06:20   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 7,948
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

Pictures would be a big help.

Sounds like the "fuse box" is actually a "junction box", but a picture would clear that up.
__________________

__________________
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 06:37   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 21
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

Hi Yes it is a junction box. will have picture in an hour or so heading to boat. thanks for assistance
__________________
Moogli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 04:40   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 21
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

Hi Hope the attached helps. Am looking for the conectors and also anyone have any idea on the wiring of the junction box
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150603_162326.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	315.6 KB
ID:	103168   Click image for larger version

Name:	20150603_162509.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	181.4 KB
ID:	103169  

__________________
Moogli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 21:06   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 7,948
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

Ah, neither a fuse box nor a junction box, but rather DIN rail mount terminal blocks. The two pronged device at the bottom is a jumper used to connect two terminal blocks.

http://www.cooperindustries.com/cont.../din-rail.html
__________________
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 23:54   #6
Registered User
 
flyingdna's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Florida
Boat: Maxim Voyage 380
Posts: 9
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

Paresh,

I have a 2003 Maxim 380. What fuse are you looking for. I do have the wiring diagrams and wire listing I can scan and send you.

What are you interested in doing electrically?

As for the fuel filters, I just bought some new ones but left them in the car. I'll look at them tomorrow and let you know.

Btw, we love our Maxim. Welcome!
Dave
__________________
flyingdna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 00:31   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 21
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

Thank you so much. I checked the site they seem to have 3 prong bridges so to say and different names top, side but none look like the Maxin one. Any further ideas on what I search for. Thank you
__________________
Moogli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 00:53   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 21
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

Hi Dave

It is the Junction box as the previous Gentleman has kindly pointed out. I have 2 or 3 things not working like front speakers and also when I switch on the deck pump other things come on like the Bilge pump. There are a few empty slots in the Junction box, not sure if Maxim has a fuse box, have not found one. I am looking for the so called Jumpers to connect in the Junction box

I wanted to know to add extra electrical items what is free where do I sue and have no idea how the electrics are wired in Maxim.


Any help would be greatly appreciated

bets rgds
__________________
Moogli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 05:34   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 7,948
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

Not a junction box, its DIN rail mounted terminal blocks. The covered areas (solid grey covers) are wiring trays. These just clip on/off. The wires connecting to the terminal blocks have numeric labels on them. These correspond to the circuit numbers on a wiring diagram. Maybe someone here can provide you with a circuit diagram for a Maxim 38?

You are unlikely to find a "fuse box" on a boat. The "fuse" function is normally provided by the breakers in the breaker panel. There are also a few DIN rail mounted breakers in your picture.

The site I posted, just as an example, stocks many DIN components. You will have to search for your specific components. Google "DIN rail terminal block" should get you started.

Do you have a picture of the fuel filter?
__________________
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 08:41   #10
Registered User
 
flyingdna's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Florida
Boat: Maxim Voyage 380
Posts: 9
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

Sorting out what has been altered when no records were kept is always fun (not).

I always verified which line I'm "jumping" into and still haven't found what all is connected (was connected now) to the Auxiliary circuit breaker switch but found it to be labeled #15.

Anyways, the fuel filter should be Parker/Racor R20S, a part of the Racor 230 series (found in West Marine and other places)

Cheers, and I'll try to get that wiring diagram scanned in.

Dave
__________________
flyingdna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 08:53   #11
Registered User
 
Sand crab's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Boat: 34' Crowther tri sold 16' Kayak now
Posts: 3,157
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

I think the large white things are 2 circuit breakers in your pic. And that's a GFCI type breaker on the right because it has a reset button.
I doubt the speaker wiring runs through this. However a seperate amplifier circuit may be in there but it would be unusual just to have a seperate amp for one pair of speakers. Did you check the fade control?
__________________
We don't need no stinking badges.
Sand crab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 09:45   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 7,948
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moogli View Post
Hi Dave

... I have 2 or 3 things not working like front speakers ....
The front speakers wont likely pass thru a terminal block. Normally these would connect directly to the stereo. Probably either wiring problem or a problem with the stereo itself. Terminal blocks are normally only used for normal current carrying circuits (AC or DC).

I would start from the speakers and work toward the stereo. 1) Test the speakers directly by connecting to another source 2) Continuity test the wiring (if its a wiring problem then is most likely at a splice or connector...could be as simple as a loose connector at the stereo). If both of those are good then its the stereo.

Incorrect things turning on could be incorrectly connected wires at the terminal blocks or breakers.
__________________
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 10:10   #13
Registered User
 
Sand crab's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Boat: 34' Crowther tri sold 16' Kayak now
Posts: 3,157
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

You have some water(?) stains in there. That metal bar with all the screws in it is called a busbar and sometimes spelled bussbar. That one screw in it looks like it had some issues with shorting and/or overheating. It's pretty dark. You might want to look at those areas.
__________________
We don't need no stinking badges.
Sand crab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 14:43   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 7,948
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

The DIN rail breakers look like Merlin-Gerin/Schneider Electric models. Sometimes a challenge to find in the USA (don't know your location). I found a surplus batch on eBay.

Im not sure the manufacturer of the DIN terminal blocks, but any DIN rail block of a similar specs will work if you want to expand the distribution bus. Its unlikely there is anything wrong with them unless they were physically damaged somehow.
__________________
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 14:55   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 7,948
Re: Maxim 38 Fuse

The jumper looks like WAGO brand jumper. So probably WAGO terminal blocks too.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-Wago-282...-/121405468088
__________________

__________________
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maxi

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maxim 380 vs Maxim 380 Mark 2 KahunaNui Multihull Sailboats 2 27-01-2015 19:21
Voyage/Maxim 380 in Europe? Gambler Multihull Sailboats 18 07-01-2008 00:22
Voyage or Maxim owners Jacana Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 2 24-09-2007 09:15
Voyage38/Maxim 380 Questions/Queries ireaney Multihull Sailboats 2 25-05-2007 13:03
Opinions on the Maxim Cat GringoOnStingo Multihull Sailboats 4 21-04-2006 19:55



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:48.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.