Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2012, 15:46   #1

Just looking for advice on a good racer / Starter.

I've been sailing smaller sailboats since I was 8 years old (optis, 420s, lasers, bytes and 29ers). I'm looking into getting myself a 20-30 ft keelboat . I am hoping to spend $10 000 - $12 000 perhaps up to $15 000 provided I find a really nice boat. I'm still interested in racing and would like a relatively fast boat (I know that isn't necessarily possible on my budget). I have to keep in mind I am a student. I was wondering if anybody had any advice on boats to look into. I know that the classic j24 is a decent race boat however I hear it typically doesnt move to quick... I may have been wrongly informed.

I'm going to university in Kingston Ontario so any type of boat on the great lakes is a possibility and my home is in Nova Scotia so any boat there is also fair game.

Any advice is welcome. Everybody has to start somewhere I figure this is the best place for me.
Donovan26490 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 15:55   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Multihulls - cats and Tris
Re: Just looking for advice on a good racer / Starter.

Corsair 24
Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 16:26   #3

Boat: C&C 34 & Sonar One Design