Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-08-2014, 12:49   #1

Is The Used Cat Market Getting Cheaper?

I've been browsing cats online for a few years now and solely based on my memory, it would seem that nicer used cats are now becoming cheaper than when I began my searching. I assume this is due to an increased number of cats on the market due to the aging fleet. I'm guessing cat sales (no pun intended) really started taking off in the early 90's and those older cats are the ones flooding the market. Am I right?

Tom
Tscott8201 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2014, 20:15   #2
Elvish meaning 'Far-Wanderer'

Boat: 56' Fountaine Pajot Marquises
Re: Is The Used Cat Market Getting Cheaper?

I do think the prices are going down, but it's on same year cats, so the age is getting to them. It's hard to ask for 60% of the value on a 15 year old cat compared to a 5 year old one.

Now, it think there are some really high prices on new builds also. Their, IMO, built cheaper and cost more. But they have a good sex appeal and make Admirals happy.
Old 28-08-2014, 20:33   #3

Boat: 1987 Cabo Rico 38 #117 (sold) & 2008 Manta 42 #124

Well and the used charter cats are just starting to really flood the market. Its been about 12 years since they really started to get popular above 38 feet. IMO you will start to see the market start to adjust downwards; just go into any moorings/sunsail brokerage and take a look at all the exact same monohulls just sitting waiting to be sold. It won't be long before you start seeing the same thing with cats.
zboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2014, 21:26   #4