Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2007, 02:53   #1

Boat: now floating easy37
interesting info on setting a para anchor

Ark Crown anchor systems

interesting use of chain i thought, something id never considered seems reasonable but im no engineer
sean
northerncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 04:05   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Noah's 'Ark' Anchors also has several extensive tutorials (which I have not had time to study, and cannot recommend or not):

Beaufort scale & wind pressure: Beaufort scale - Ark Anchors

Noah's notes on safe anchoring: Ark Crown anchor systems

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 05:18   #3

Boat: 47' Olympic Adventure
It certainly seems like it would work. I'd like to hear how it actually performs, by someone who has tried it. I wonder, if in the conditions one is likely to use a para, would not the anchor-chain be bar-taut as well?

Kevin
Lodesman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 09:28   #4

Boat: Lagoon 420 - Hull 52
Noah 'easy rider' technique

I came across Noah 'easy rider' technique a few weeks ago when researching parachute anchors, except I found it on a different site (follow this link Ark Crown anchor systems). If you read any of the author's other 107 'Real Truth : Articles' (see To main Index) you may attach less credibility to his suggestion. The author, Terence Malaher, is clearly off his trolley; he lists his occupation as 'spiritual healer' and Interests as 'truth' and has bizarre opinions about a whole host of subjects. That doesn't mean the half chain rode technique is necessarily bad, but that it needs to be validated by others.