Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2013, 09:09   #1

Boat: 2011 Lagoon 450F
I'm NEW!

Just wanted to drop in and say hi... I have been enjoying being a lurker here for quite sometime, and figured it was time to join. My husband and I are just beginning this journey.. so I will have tons of questions. I apologize in advance for bombarding everyone..

As I've said.. I am a beginner.. (is there a stage BEFORE beginner??) We have just recently made the decision to plan for our retirement on a catamaran. I'm 46 and my husband is 52... our goal isto retire in 6 years. We have no sailing experience.. and haven't even been on a catamaran.. I know.. I'm one of THOSE people...(hey.. everyone's got to start somewhere!) let me prove to you that I will be around for a while.

We have taken some steps forward... We have been reading TONS and have begun working through the ASA course books. We have also begun to network with others who have sailing experience, and similar dreams. We booked our trip to Miami for the boat show.. we will spend 4 days there... We have scheduled our first charter with a friend who has his captain's license, so we will get a week long crew experience in the BVI this spring, and then we will head to Fort Lauderdale, where we are taking a week long course with water sailing">Blue Water Sailing. We will take the the A+ cat course... (we will get certified in 101, 103, 104 and 114... ) We have also joined a local yacht club where we can rent sailboats, and network. And, most importantly, we have met with a financial advisor and formulated a plan to "get there"! So.. we have a good start!