Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-08-2009, 07:53   #1

I'm Looking for a Teacher

My wife and I have very little sailing experience and we are looking to accelerate our learning curve because we would love to spend a few years cruising the South Pacific, AU and NZ. We're thinking that we can find someone to teach us on our own boat. Am I crazy? We're convinced that a multihull is best for our needs and lifestyle. We're looking to buy a 42-50ft. cat that is equipped for live aboard off the grid blue ocean sailing. I haven't found a multihull sailing school and why would I pay to use someone else's equipment when I'll have my own. We're looking to begin our training around Florida the Bahamas. I appreciate any help you could provide.
jokler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2009, 08:17   #2

Boat: Privilege 37
You will be investing a lot of money in something you do not know will be right, or even if the life is right for you. It makes more sense to prove that living onboard is acceptable to both of you, by a skippered charter, and this will start the learning process, and give you someone to ask about needs for blue water. That way when you get your own boat, you will have a much deeper knowledge of what you need. Furthermore, it will give you the contacts for instruction on your own boat - not necessarily much cheaper because the instructors fees will not be shared amongst the other sailors.
Old 17-08-2009, 08:30   #3