Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-05-2016, 22:53   #1

Ideas for small NZ blue water cat

I'm a noob when it comes to open ocean sailing. I plan on taking a Nautilus catamaran certification class later this year and want to get a small cat that would work for a family of five for short trips. I'm living in Nelson and wanting to take trips across the tasman and golden bays for fun that will allow family to acclimate to the cruising lifestyle, allow me to learn all the funs of boat ownership and sailing a larger cat in open waters, and gain the experience I want before buying a new large cat to start circumnavigating in October 2021 (when I will have my NZ citizenship).

So what I want to do is find a cat for under $150,000 that would be comfortable for living onboard for around 10 days at a time, has systems similar enough to a larger 50' cat to gain familarity with, and is able to make longer trips (w/out the whole family) like up the eastern side of NZ to bay of Islands and northland. What makes and models are recommended where if maintained properly I'd be able to roughly sell for what I put into it but at the same time after 5 years I'd have a great sense of what I want in a 50' cat that will be our home for many years? I do have extensive RV boondocking experience, long backcountry expedition experiences, airline pilot, commercial construction, and built/opened several breweries. I have read many stories/blogs about the rough oceans around NZ and will be playing it very cautiously. BTW, I'm 6'4 and kids (currently 10,12,14) are looking to be larger than I am.

Features I want would be: