Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-07-2018, 13:11   #1

Helia Charter Review

We recently chartered a Fountaine Pajot Helia 44’ in California for a couple days.

It was an awesome experience.

I’ve seen a lot of “newbie” threads lately, and thought as a fellow newbie I might offer my thoughts. Just stuff I wish I’d had a better idea of.

Fair warning. This is going to be very long.

The weather was about perfect temperature wise. No need for A/C or anything. The water was much too chilly to enjoy for warm blooded southerners used to the gulf.

I’ll just dive right in then.

Stepping into the salon for the first time, with a few people sitting down, and squeezing past others to unpack into the cabins, the salon is a lot smaller in person than I expected. I would call it “serviceable”, but it certainly didn’t feel luxurious.

The galley seemed fine, but took up a ton of space and made me think the linear galley of a Bali or Leopard would be much more to my liking. It did make me realize that the awkwardly shaped, small galley of the Lagoon 42 is probably perfectly serviceable though. I'm the cook of the family, so this is an area I was hoping to be impressed with and I just wasn't. It's not bad certainly. But it didn't wow me with how well it was arranged or how much they packed into the space either.

The seating was just awkward. You take the “seats eight comfortably” claims from brokers with a big grain of salt, but your crew better be pretty trim to sit more than 4 comfortably with back cushions and room to not have to bang your knees together.

The little coffee table was nice for storage, but a real table (which I assume is an option) would’ve been welcome.

Quality wise everything in the salon seemed to be in great shape and we didn’t have any concerns there.