Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 12-10-2015, 05:07   #1

Grp over ply

I'm considering buying an older cat which has a hull made of grp over ply and a deck made of glass over ply.

Does anyone have a view on this set up please?

Old 12-10-2015, 05:17   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38
Re: Grp over ply

Difference in GRP and glass?

I mistrust any core, but an argument can be made if it's older and the core is still dry, then it obviously worked?

Best let some experts chime in though, I'm no expert.

Old 12-10-2015, 05:36   #3

Good question! I haven't spoken to the owner yet but this is how it was described in the ad.
Old 12-10-2015, 07:13   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS

Is the binding resin made with epoxy or polyester? Older polyester boats experience delamination of the resin from the substrate after many years. My WEST System boat doesn't have that issue, even after 40 years. If you mechanically tap the surface of the glass with the butt end of a screwdriver, you may be able to hear either the solid rap of bonded substrate, or the hollower sound caused by a "bubble" of air separating the FRP and the ply. If repairs are extensive, it will be expensive in time and treasure. Eventually the "bubble" cracks, allowing fresh water to enter and begin the cancer of dry rot, This often happens from impact damage, say, dropping a winch handle on the deck. With epoxy, it may result in a "star fracture", radiating cracks eminating from the impact site, and less likely to lead rapidly to further damage, but still needing eventual repair. After all these years, I have been totally refinishing my entire boat and found some evidence of star fractures, but none of dry rot in the deck surfaces.
Old 12-10-2015, 07:59   #5

Thanks Roy.

I'll ask when I speak to the seller. The current owner has been living onboard for the last five years so I'm hoping they've kept on top of maintenance.