Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-09-2008, 17:01   #1

Boat: Any time now!
Question Gemini Costs and Comparisons

I am fairly new to sailing, but will have a few years under my belt when I am finally able to get out there and start cruising.

In my searches for a boat (can't buy yet, have to wait until house is sold) I have seen a few mono's that seem nice. Then I began reading on mono vs multi aspects and a lot of the things about the cat's appealed to me.

In particular, the Gemini 105M seems about perfect for me.

I have one main problem with this. Cost.

I only expect to have $150,000 in the bank after selling my house/vehicles/etc. I would be a LOT more comfortable with 80 grand in the bank after buying/outfitting my boat than I would be with 40 grand. I do plan on supplementing that by working about 2 days a week on the internet while down there but I would still be a lot more comfortable with a big nest egg in case something bad happened. Even the mono's I was looking at were more in the 50-70 range rather than 100 grand. Most of the Gemini 105M's I've seen wander somewhere around 100 grand. After that plus outfitting a LARGE bit of my cruising kitty would be gone.

Solutions: Not that sure here. Maybe looking at an older Gemini 3400 or 3200? I was thinking of doing some passage making on the 105M to the Pacific Islands like Hawaii and Tahiti after getting a few years experience coastal cruising. While most of what I will be doing is coastal cruising (and I've heard the 105 is probably the most perfect thing on the water for that,) most of what I've read says this is doable on the 105M but I have not heard anything about the 3400's.