Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-03-2008, 16:29   #1

Boat: FP Tobago 35
Daggerboards, symmetric or asymmetric?

Been doing some reading on daggerboards, and am not decided on symmetric or not. I am leaning a bit towards asymmetric, as you mostly only sail with the leeward board down I think? I have no experience with daggerboards, so any advice is very welcome. Also regarding aspect ratios and profiles, widths etc.

These are for a 49 foot performance cruiser weighing around 7,2 tons empty and 10 tons fully loaded.

I have looked at having a single board like Shuttleworth does, but prefer the redundancy of 2 boards.

All input is welcome

Regards

Alan
Nordic cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 17:15   #2

Having assymetrical boards kind of defeats the redundancy argument a bit doesn't it?

It would be of questionable value for a cruisng boat IMHO - the crew are probably not going to be wanting to switch boards for every tack like they would in a racing situation.
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2008, 21:10   #3

Boat: Maine Cat 41
No need for asymmetrical. As 44'CC says, it defeats the redundancy issue, it's a pain when tacking and frankly the gains over fixed keels etc is so significant that the subsequent perceived gain of asymmetry is limited. I have 2 boards and generally only use 1 or 1 and a half boards and never bother to change things. The water doesn't know which board is the leeward board!
cchesley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2008, 01:41   #4

Boat: Egan 12.40, Carter 33, Seawind 24