Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2008, 12:43   #1

Boat: FP Tobago 35
Daggerboard design

Are there any guidelines or suggestions as to the sizing of daggerboards for a cat, the pointers I'm looking for are:

Area
Chord
Aspect ratio
Depth
Profile (symmetrical)
Placement fore/aft and offset from centreline

Also any experience with trunk design and lifting/dropping rigging would be appreciated.

Regards

Alan
Nordic cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2008, 13:25   #2

Boat: Catana 471
Hi Alan - not being a naval architect, I cannot speak to most of these considerations, but I bet somebody else will!

I can offer you a bit of info on a couple items.

Off setting the boards from centerline seems common to keep the trunks from being in the middle of the living spaces. The Catana boards are placed outboard such that the outboard side of the trunks coincides with the outboard edge of the hulls. It seems they could be "justified" to the inboard sides as well. This also has the advantage of not having the opening for the boards right at the bottom of the hulls if the boat can be beached. I've seen some boards angled a bit off vertical athwartships apparently to make the trunks conform to the outboard angle of the hulls.

Designing the trunks to be stronger than the boards seems intuitive - sacrifice the board instead of the hull in the event of collision.